Send my FREE Garden
Catalog & Coupon Today!

Receive a FREE copy of the Gurney's Seed & Nursery catalog PLUS a coupon for $25 OFF by simply filling out the information below. And don't forget to fill one out for each of your gardening friends.

* First Name
* Last Name
* Address 1
Address 2
* City
* State
* Zip Code
* Email
* Required Email Enter your email address here to receive your
    $25 OFF Instant Coupon!

Get the latest deals from Gurney's Seed & Nursery!

Preview exciting new products, learn about special sale events and lots more.
Sign up to start receiving Gurney's Seed & Nursery e-mail updates.

View Product Reviews


-


< Return to product
 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2014-06-08 14:41:05
If you like strawberries.... these are the ones!
Posted By: Corey Pollock
Location: Forest Grove, OR United States
Comments:
You cant go wrong with these berries. They are as good as my hoods and maybe better. The key is to water in the morning and evening and fertilize @ planting and three weeks later. I used the fertilizer from gurneys and triple 16 plus 6. my berries are the size of peaches , they are not kidding about the size! They are huge and taste great!

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2013-02-08 00:00:00
started slow
Posted By: Angela Arthofer
Location: Bath, Pa United States
Comments:
Plants looked dried out when shipped. Planted in spring 2011 approximately 25 plants. In spring 2012 we lost 1/2 from the winter. The ones that were left produced a fair amount of strawberries excellent flavor and all at least as big as a half dollar. When they were done fruiting; they almost completely took over shooting runners EVERWHERE. I transplanted the runners and will see how they do after this winter.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2012-03-28 00:00:00
super good
Posted By: Kay
Location: Clarkesville, GA United States
Comments:
Love these berries. We have gotten some 4 inches cross and they are just as sweet as the smaller ones. I have been able to share the runner plants with friends and family and they all have loved them. They are so easy to grow. The only bad thing I can think of is we have to wait all winter to eat freash ones.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2012-02-13 00:00:00
Didn't do well in NW
Posted By: Amy
Location: Duvall, WA United States
Comments:
I planted these at my home at the west base of the Cascades and they've done very little. They seem to rott very easily; not good in the damp NW. Their taste is so-so. I've had much better luck with other strawberry varieties.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2011-10-21 00:00:00
Gallons of Berries
Posted By: Tammie
Location: Hayden, Idaho United States
Comments:
I planted these strawberries last summer in a raised bed of 1/2 sand and 1/2 well composted manure. The plants took off right away and produced beautiful healthy huge plants. I picked off most of the flowers, and cut off the runners (which I used to plant the other half of the bed). This year, despite a cold wet spring, I harvested 12 gallon buckets of berries off a 12 x 12 foot bed over a three week period. They were juicy and sweet and there were plenty for fresh eating, freezing and sharing with friends and family. I am looking forward to next year!!

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2011-04-18 00:00:00
Very pleased
Posted By: Matthew
Location: Baton Rouge, LA United States
Comments:
Planted these in the Spring of 2010. Did not know i was supposed to remove the blossoms the first year, but did get a few berries. This yr they did great! Very good berries. I have been picking a lot every other day. No peach sized but a few big ones. I would recommend these berries.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2011-03-06 00:00:00
great!
Posted By: Rich
Location: north canton, oh United States
Comments:
I bought 50 of these last spring ,very nice plants planted as told, these plants took off debloosmed all but a few plants. the ones I didn't still grew huge sweet berries/ It was so good my girl & I would run out to garden in morning hoping to get a ripe one! very heathy looking after this tuff winter look foward to alot of berries this summer

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2010-11-08 00:00:00
Poor taste
Posted By: DM
Location: Oakland, CA United States
Comments:
The plant grow fast and looks good but the star berry does not have any taste.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2010-07-06 00:00:00
worst berry ever
Posted By: Gary
Location: Littleton, CO United States
Comments:
We had the exact disappointing results with these as did KS of Pennsylvania. Two years of water and lots effort wasted. These weeds will be pulled and in next week's trash. Gurney's is an outstanding company. I have been a customer for over 55 years. In all that time, this is the first disappointment. Not too bad, I would have to say.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2010-06-29 00:00:00
Fantastic berries
Posted By: Denise
Location: Monroe, WA United States
Comments:
"I am so pleased with the Whopper strawberries purchased from you. The first year had a few ""whopper"" size, BUT THIS YEAR THEY ARE ALL WHOPPER SIZE!!! I was surprised as we have had an extremely wet and cold spring/early summer. The berries are juicy and flavorful. I couldn't be happier! Sold on the Whoppers!!!"

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2010-06-13 00:00:00
Extremely disappointing!! bad berries
Posted By: KS
Location: Northumberland county, Pennsylvania United States
Comments:
I have an organic garden and have grown several varieties-both junebearing and everbearing strawberries for 7 years & this is the worst experience I've ever had. I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND THIS BERRY! The FRUIT ROTS before it is ripe. The tops get all mushy and most of the berry is still white or barely pink. They are invaded by LOTS of bugs and eaten before they are ripe. I have never had a bug eat my strawberries before. (maybe they would be suited for a hanging basket) With my other varieties I have always gotten perfect(unblemished) juicy sweet berries bursting with flavor. With the Whopper you have to pick them while the bottom quarter is still white in order to have any berry at all. Then the reward is DISAPPOINTING. The berries are juicy but almost TASTELESS!!! You need to use your imagination to remember they are strawberries! The plants are PROLIFIC and take over. I bought 50 plants last year & planted them a foot apart. They have spread like a jungle with mostly leaves. I can not find a spot to place my foot to pick and the bed is only 3-4 feet wide. There is a large crop of various sized berries but none that are even close to peach size- large, yes huge, no. Very disappointing. Not worth the investment or your time. Extremely high maintenance. I am going to rip them out after this season and plant more honeoye! - now those are worth it!!!

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2010-06-03 00:00:00
So Good So Far
Posted By: Craig
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah United States
Comments:
I ordered 50 of these plants on a spring special from Gurney's. The were well packed, with great roots and very healthy. They are growing great and look wonderful. I also took off all the flowers. These are in a raised bed and if they continue on they should produce a great crop of berries next year. I would recommend these to my family and friends.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2010-05-27 00:00:00
So far so good!
Posted By: Theresa
Location: Hewitt, Minnesota United States
Comments:
So far so good. Planted about six weeks ago and the plants are thriving. We had an early spring in April this year but after I planted we had four days of freezing weather. Only 3 plants did not survive out of 50. I am letting them fruit this year and they have lots of flowers and some small berries already. Can't wait to see how the berries form and grow.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2010-05-27 00:00:00
Yum yum!
Posted By: KA
Location: Edgar Co., IL United States
Comments:
We planted these last spring. We had a very wet spring and so held the bare root plants in the fridge for five days until we had a break in the weather and the soil was more workable. I had them heeled in for quite awhile-- the plants stayed there long enough to put on some good growth. (Too good, I think. They should have been moved sooner). I ended up moving only half of them due to time and weather contraints. The ones that I moved were fertilized with a fish emulsion. These soon showed me that they were not very happy about being moved after thier roots had already done so much growing! The half that ended up growing in the original spot looked much happier and were never fertilized. Come this spring, both halves looked very happy! The unfertilized plants are just as large, productive and flavorful as the ones that I had moved and fertilized. I have never seen soooo many blooms as what these have!

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2010-05-10 00:00:00
BIG DISAPPOINTMENT!
Posted By: Janice Harmon
Location: Ridge Spring, SC United States
Comments:
Planted last year & did not let fruit as directed. This year plants look beautiful & have alot of berries, but by the time the berries are red they are already mushy & horrible. Very disappointed!

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2010-04-24 00:00:00
Cold Hardya
Posted By: matt mcmahill
Location: Frannie, Wyoming United States
Comments:
We planted our collection Spring 2009 with thoughts of oops we're not a zone 5! more like 3.5, at the base of the Big Horn Mtns. They got planted in a bed that resides in the corner of a dog eared fence. As winter came closer, we worried a little, in a area known for extreme cold. This spring Gurney's Whoppers we the first thing to pop through the mulch! Surviving and thriving!

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2010-04-16 00:00:00
Look good so far
Posted By: Valerie
Location: Baltimore, Maryland United States
Comments:
I planted these about a month ago. So far, they are beautiful. They are already starting to produce berries but I am not letting them fruit this year. I cannot wait until huge crops of berries next year.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2010-04-15 00:00:00
whoppers
Posted By: Regina
Location: West Mansfield, ohio United States
Comments:
The strawberries lived up to their name.The plants have been loaded with huge berries for three years and we have given away lots of plants. We wanted to move our 14x20 bed this year so we ordered new plants. They arrived in excellent condition .

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2010-04-13 00:00:00
help
Posted By: edward
Location: gilbertown, alabama United States
Comments:
order 25 plants last year planted in small containers because i was moving they died from lack of space or so i thought replanted the few survivors now months later there are between 50 and 75 plants all with very large berries and its only april more berries than ever dreamed this early on thanks

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2010-04-05 00:00:00
Didn't grow for me
Posted By: Julie
Location: Bay Area, California United States
Comments:
When I received my 1st order and planted them, most of the plants were dead. Gurney was kind enough to resend 50 plants. More than 1/2 lived but not growing like the other reviewers claimed. I will try the local variety.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2010-03-27 00:00:00
Waste of time & money
Posted By: Eddie
Location: Ogden, Utah United States
Comments:
I ordered the whopper collection in 2007. That year I got 2 small berries. I thought that maybe they just needed to get established. However, all I ever got was big leaved plants and no berries. I am a master gardener, but I have given up and I am pulling them out this spring and planting a local variety.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2010-03-26 00:00:00
Hope there as good as they Look.
Posted By: Rebeca Carreir
Location: Springfield, Ky United States
Comments:
I only hope there as good as they look.They really look so good.Don't let me down.Thanks

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2009-10-13 00:00:00
surprised
Posted By: jojo
Location: robbinsdale, minnesota United States
Comments:
Just finishing my first year and am impressed. Even with snipping blooms they went right on producing berries. Birds love them so be careful. Big delicious berries. I can hardly wait for next year. Any one who has problems with these does not understand how to garden strawberries!

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2009-07-23 00:00:00
The end of the road
Posted By: Rosie
Location: Colbert, Washington United States
Comments:
I bought 50 plants three years ago and the first two years were fantastic. Other than the bird sharing issue which was resolved with netting I yielded a great crop the first year. The second year I cleared the suckers and widened my rows and had an excellent harvest. This is the third year and the fun is over. If I have gathered five strawberries then I've been generous with my numbers. I am pulling all the greenery and will be planting new starters next spring. These plants are a good project for kids to do as results are seen quickly. Don't expect your suckers to bear fruit.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2009-06-17 00:00:00
UPDATE 2
Posted By: Breanna
Location: Davison, MI United States
Comments:
UPDATE...Most of the now counted 179 strawberry plants are already showing blooms!! Many have 4-7 Blooms already. I know they say pluck the blooms for bigger plants next year, but I can't wait to taste them this year. Maybe, I will pluck the blooms on the smaller plants. I will post again when I get to eat them.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2009-06-11 00:00:00
Whopper Strawberries
Posted By: Breanna
Location: Davison, MI United States
Comments:
I ordered 200 Whopper Strawberry plants, I received Camorosa Strawberries as a substitute and way more than 200 plants counting the smaller ones. Today is Wednesday. Last Saturday and Sunday, I soaked the strawberries for at least 2 hours in shultz root stimulator. The ph of my soil is 6.9 sandy. Zone 5. I bought an all natural strawberry fertilizer from a different company and put it down on the third rototilling of the land. Then I shovelled each space at a shovel deep and took all the rocks and grass packs out of the piles and crumbled finely the piles into the hole. I wet down some spagnum moss and spread the saturated strawberry plant around a ball of that spagnum moss. Added the rest of the dirt and made a moundaround the strawberry plant. It Rained Monday, Tues, Wed. I watered today. about 160 plants got planted only 2 don't have green leaves. The rest look extremely healthy. There is a weed preventor tarp rolled out between the rows with straw laid thick holding it down with a few larger rocks. Next year I anticipate a great harvest!I will update next year.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2009-06-06 00:00:00
Proceed w/ caution!
Posted By: John
Location: columbus, ohio United States
Comments:
"First, the good. These are very sweet and delicious strawberries. However 1)the size of the strawberries is grossly exaggerated. They are a medium size, not huge 2) the plants are fragile, initially. I had a lot die out. Once established, they look to take over your yard. Keep in mind these plants will grow large and actively try to spread everywhere 3) following the rule of NOT letting them fruit the first year and even using Gurneys strawberry food, berry production has been average at best 4) every animal on land and air will be after your berries. I have had squirrels, chipmunks, and bird problems. I have never had an issue with any animals in my gardens until I planted strawberries. I now have to have an electric garden fence, behind that a rabbit fence, and covering the top of it all, bird netting. As a result, these may be the most expensive strawberries I have ever eaten. They say you get four to five years of good berry production out of strawberry plants. I can honestly say that when these plants have run their course, I'm done with strawberries. Way too much work, way too much space vs. what they produce(in the same space you could grow enough tomatoes to feed dozens of people), and it gets exhausting dealing with animal invaders. Is that worth getting them fresh vs. the grocery store? I would say ""no"". If you have to have fresh, go to a pick your own farm. Way cheaper and easier. Save your garden space for more productive plants that aren't under 24/7 attack from the animal world. By the way, I live a 10 minutes drive from a city. I am not in rural situation. If you think your neighborhood doesn't have animals and birds, plant strawberries and you will find out you're wrong. My advice is to pass them by unless you have HUGE amounts of garden space and are willing to go to extreme measures to protect your ""crop"". Once these plants are gone, in go more tomatoes and broccoli. They are e"

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2009-06-06 00:00:00
Average
Posted By: Keith
Location: Teaneck, NJ United States
Comments:
Planted them. The plants grew well. The sizes of the strawberries were average and acceptable for any typical strawberry plant. But these were listed as extraordinarily large bearing fruits. I just didn't find this to be the case.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2009-05-03 00:00:00
OUTSTANDING
Posted By: Dave
Location: Orlando, Florida United States
Comments:
I planted these several days after receiving them. Kept them in the house, for over a week. I noticed they started to sprout green leaves, so I soaked them for 2 hours, then planted them. In less then five weeks, I had blooms, Runners, and did not loose one plant! Will post flavors after I get to eat them!

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2009-04-27 00:00:00
Great root system
Posted By: jack
Location: minier, illionis United States
Comments:
"I had to keep mine in a cool garage because of possible frost but was able to plant on 4/21/09 and the plants have really taken off. They immediately began growing and are making the rest of my garden look ""weak"". Can I expect to have fruit this yaer or should I remove the flowers as they appear and wait until next year to reap the harvest?"

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2008-04-23 00:00:00
Very impressed
Posted By: Gretta
Location: Colona, IL United States
Comments:
I was very surprised at the size of the roots when I received them in the mail, very thick and large. Its been about 2 weeks and they are growing very quickly. Before I bought these I had been thinking about just buying them from the local nursery or the boxed ones at the stores, but these plants from gurneys surpass the size of the others. They are very good quality.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2008-04-02 00:00:00
Awsome
Posted By: Jim O
Location: Lumberton, TX United States
Comments:
We added these to our Strawberry Garden kit they have turned out Way better than expected. We planted them on the 14th & already have flowers on over 50% of the plants. My Daughter is excited to see how they grow. They are looking great. THANKS GURNEYS!!!

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2007-05-15 00:00:00
WoW!
Posted By: Brian
Location: Marion, Iowa United States
Comments:
WoW! Once I received them from Gurney's, the strawberry plants looked really good. I planted them in my garden and they have flourished. The plants are just plain huge and have 4 or 5 blossoms on each plant within a months time. Awesome!!

Premium SSL Certificate