Send my FREE Garden
Catalog & Coupon Today!

Receive a FREE copy of the Gurney's Seed & Nursery catalog PLUS a coupon for $25 OFF by simply filling out the information below. And don't forget to fill one out for each of your gardening friends.

* First Name
* Last Name
* Address 1
Address 2
* City
* State
* Zip Code
* Email
* Required Email Enter your email address here to receive your
    $25 OFF Instant Coupon!

Get the latest deals from Gurney's Seed & Nursery!

Preview exciting new products, learn about special sale events and lots more.
Sign up to start receiving Gurney's Seed & Nursery e-mail updates.

View Product Reviews


15285 - Castor Bean


< Return to product
 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2012-03-24 00:00:00
tropical pardise
Posted By: charlotte
Location: roanoke, va United States
Comments:
I planted these for the 1st time last year 2011. It was like watching a time capsule explode. They started out at a mere 3-4 inch plant and by mid summer they were 14ft+ high. Every time I walked out onto my deck, I felt like I was in a tropical paradise. How beautiful they were. Wow! I bought 4 plants last year, this year I doubled it. I have shared this with all my friends and now they too are on board!

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2010-04-27 00:00:00
Huge plants
Posted By: Kim R
Location: Columbus, OH United States
Comments:
I bought a pack of seeds last year and stuck just three seeds in the ground in a 5 foot long bed next to my deck. By late summer they were so tall they blocked the view from the deck and they were wide enough that they took the entire 5 foot bed up. At the end of the growing season I had to cut the stocks down with a saw. These plants need lots of sun but zero maintenance. (I planted a couple more seeds in a slightly shaded area and they only got 4 feet tall) The leaves are huge and very attractive and the stocks are similar to bamboo. I am planting more this year, but now that I know they get 15 feet tall I'm putting them further out in the yard.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2009-07-04 00:00:00
High Praise
Posted By: Ginny
Location: Raleigh, NC United States
Comments:
"This is a unique, beautiful plant and not invasive here in 7b. Surprisingly it did winter over tho' and provided two extra ""volunteers"" this season (that became great passalong gifts). I love the subtle coloring, leaf shape and bright flower at the top."

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2009-05-16 00:00:00
Kills Moles
Posted By: Doug
Location: Birmingham, Alabama United States
Comments:
I plan to buy several of these plants. My neighbor actually wants them for one specific reason. Many years ago, her father in law used the to kill moles. She has tried everything and her yard is infested with moles that eat the roots from her other plants and have destroyed her yard. It is understood that the moles will feed on the roots and the toxicity will kill them. FYI

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2009-01-13 00:00:00
Memories of castor bean plants
Posted By: wGoddard
Location: derry, nhy United States
Comments:
I remember my mother planting castor bean plants beside our small apartment in a trailer part we lived in in the 50's. Well she got so much attention and so many compliments about them! They were vibrant, tall, refreshing, they added beauty to a place that needed it! I was so proud of her. They are a special plant for me to remeber them all these years.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2008-09-28 00:00:00
castor bean plant
Posted By: Deborah D.
Location: Santa Ynez, Ca. United States
Comments:
This is an incredibly invasive plant that is extremely hard to eradicate in zones 9 and down. It should be planted only if willing to contain its spread as it will escape and crowd out native species. Also, as mentioned in the sales description, all parts of the Castor plant are poisonous. Frankly with all that in mind it may only qualify as a houseplant in a very brightly lit location.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2008-09-13 00:00:00
tropical feel
Posted By: Debbie
Location: Kamloops, B.C. Canada United States
Comments:
Beautiful large leaves that have a tropical feel to them. The flowers are very interesting to boot. A plant worth trying in any garden.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2008-05-20 00:00:00
Energy Savings too!
Posted By: Tom
Location: Chicagoland, IL United States
Comments:
I've utilized these plants for many years to shade my A/C unit during peak cooling season. Saves on the electric bill as the unit doesn't need to work quite so hard.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2008-02-20 00:00:00
Followup
Posted By: Pat
Location: Indianapolis, IN United States
Comments:
Placed plants in southern exposure in late Jun to shade hosta bed. Plants leafed out much more with this full sun exposure and were at least 8-9 ft. tall, despite a very dry summer.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2007-06-06 00:00:00
Cast your lot on these beans
Posted By: Floyd Miller
Location: Hampton, virginia United States
Comments:
Wow. I am a very electric gardener and these were the jewel in my yard. Last years Nor'easter devistated my banana plant, but this plant barely bent! One of the most beautiful things in my yard, and it grew to 15'!

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2007-05-25 00:00:00
AWESOME!
Posted By: Jennifer
Location: North Mankato, MN United States
Comments:
"I have grown these for the last 8 years, and we love them! The tropical look always gets plenty of comments, and passers always ask about them. Last year's crop grew to 13ft and 4"" tall, not bad by MN standards!"

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2007-05-13 00:00:00
Bird Bath Leaves
Posted By: Marjorie Krause
Location: Eau Claire, WI United States
Comments:
I can`t wait for these plants to mature. I use the leaves to cast cement birdbaths. They are beautiful and useful. I had one plant grow at least 8 feet tall in our climate!.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2007-03-12 00:00:00
caster bean plants
Posted By: Pamela Brust
Location: Waverly, Ohio United States
Comments:
"I have been growing caster bean plants for many years, not only do they look stunnily beautiful, but they repell gophers, ground moles and ground hogs. I had alot of trouble with them before I heard about this plant. My grandmother used to call them ""dog tick"" because the seeds look like large dog ticks. I plant them every year and will do so in the future."

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2007-03-11 00:00:00
Fast Grower like small trees
Posted By: Pat
Location: indpls, IN United States
Comments:
First time grower in 2006. Once the seeds germinate they quickly outgrow any pot you put them in. Placed plants in the ground in July and still grew over 6 feet in 3/4 day sun. The huge leaves are amazing! Plants may need staking, but even if keaning, they just keep growing if roots stay covered.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2007-02-15 00:00:00
Amazing
Posted By: Lori
Location: N. Tonawanda, New York United States
Comments:
My Castor Bean Plants grew so large- at least 10 feet high. The leaves were enormous. I actually had people stop their cars and ask what kind of tree it was. I plant them every year. If the summers are very sunny, this plant grows very large.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2007-01-23 00:00:00
Stunning
Posted By: Vince Griffith
Location: Pickerinton, ohio United States
Comments:
Ohio had record high temps in the summer of 2006. I started plants from seed and within a few weeks after setting plants out, plants were stunning. Seven feet tall and almost four feet across. My naighbors all wondered what type of plant this was. I have planted this plant about three years in a row however never with the results that I had in the summer of 2006

Premium SSL Certificate