Send my FREE Garden
Catalog & Coupon Today!

Receive a FREE copy of the Gurney's Seed & Nursery catalog PLUS a coupon for $25 OFF by simply filling out the information below. And don't forget to fill one out for each of your gardening friends.

* First Name
* Last Name
* Address 1
Address 2
* City
* State
* Zip Code
* Email
* Required Email Enter your email address here to receive your
    $25 OFF Instant Coupon!

Get the latest deals from Gurney's Seed & Nursery!

Preview exciting new products, learn about special sale events and lots more.
Sign up to start receiving Gurney's Seed & Nursery e-mail updates.

View Product Reviews


15167 - Sugar Baby Watermelon


< Return to product
 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2010-08-22 00:00:00
Excellent watermelon
Posted By: Dave
Location: Westfield, MA United States
Comments:
I have grown these watermelons with excellent success in the past with numerous fruits of great size (6-7 pounds). This year, voles have found the vines and chewed off a lot of the vines a few feet after the forming melons. Instead of averaging 4 melons per vine I averaged between one and two. To my surprize, the remaining melons got huge by Sugar Baby standards. Between 10 and 14 pounds! If you grow this melon, try pruning the vines after a few melons start forming. I will do this in all future plantings. It will hurt to do it, but you will be rewarded with larger than average watermelons that are sweeter and tastier than any other melon you can grow.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2010-07-25 00:00:00
Surprise
Posted By: Robin Scott
Location: Hitchins, Kentucky United States
Comments:
I got a nice surprise this year after drought took my melons last year. I covered the garden with grass clippings this spring to keep down weeds. Much to my surprise, the Sugar Baby watermelons came back with a vengeance and are winding through the corn rows full of blooms. I'm looking forward to tasting them.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2010-05-24 00:00:00
Betty
Posted By: Betty
Location: The Colony, Texas United States
Comments:
First time to try watermelon and we already have 10 melons growing on 3 separate plants. They mature very quickly. The biggest one is softball size after a week. I only hope that we can pick it at the right time for the best flavor.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2010-04-07 00:00:00
Great Melon
Posted By: Mark
Location: Tribune, kansas United States
Comments:
I live in western Kansas where it is hot and dry. I have planted sugar babies for several years, and have never missed a crop. They are very sweet, and just right to fit in the frig.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2009-09-01 00:00:00
OUT OF CONTROL!
Posted By: Hilary
Location: Blanchester, Ohio United States
Comments:
My neighbor told me that watermelons won't grow in our area. BUT my corn died my pepper are pathetic and my pumpkins just now got blooms. BUT MY WATERMELON IS GROWING LIKE A WEED WITH LOTS OF FRUITS!!! Haven't picked any yet to taste but I will have enough fruits I can bring one to my neighbor and show off! :)

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2009-08-25 00:00:00
Best In Watermelons
Posted By: Fern
Location: Greenfield, Ma United States
Comments:
This is my first try at gardening. I lost all my Pumkins,Tomatoes and Cukes, But My Melons are out of control. I have 10 melons on one vine and they are close to to picking I can almost taste them.All together I have about 30 Melons growing...

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2009-08-08 00:00:00
Great
Posted By: Jason Jones
Location: New Church, Virginia United States
Comments:
I have planted four of these melons. I had no problem growing them from seed. I planted two on a trellis and two on the ground. The two on the trellis have so far produced thirteen melons and the two on the ground have produced five. Clearly the trellis wins. I have already picked two from the trellis and they are delicious. I highly recommend this melon. Especially if using a trellis.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2008-07-23 00:00:00
THE BEST WATERMELON EVER!
Posted By: Danny Grogg
Location: Aloha, Oregon United States
Comments:
"Before my Grandma died she was always telling me, ""If you want to grow a watermelon here in NW Oregon, try to grow a Sugar Baby!"" and that is exactly what I did. And once again, Grandma was right. It grew very vigorous and produced 6 to 7 7 Pound fruits. This watermelon I Highly recommend!"

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2008-04-19 00:00:00
It rocks!
Posted By: Natalie
Location: Lake Park, Neb United States
Comments:
They are easy to plant and they are easy to pick and eat with lots of juice.

Premium SSL Certificate