Send my FREE Garden
Catalog & Coupon Today!

Receive a FREE copy of the Gurney's Seed & Nursery catalog PLUS a coupon for $25 OFF by simply filling out the information below. And don't forget to fill one out for each of your gardening friends.

* First Name
* Last Name
* Address 1
Address 2
* City
* State
* Zip Code
* Email
* Required Email Enter your email address here to receive your
    $25 OFF Instant Coupon!

Get the latest deals from Gurney's Seed & Nursery!

Preview exciting new products, learn about special sale events and lots more.
Sign up to start receiving Gurney's Seed & Nursery e-mail updates.

View Product Reviews


15080A - Early Girl (VFF) Hybrid Tomato


< Return to product
 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2013-12-27 20:04:31
Early Girl Tomatos
Posted By: Wilbur Finnigan
Location: Soap Lake, WA United States
Comments:
I have planted these tomatoes since they came out and they have always performed great .lots of early tomatoes early and through the season til frost. I have grown them on the Washington coast (Seattle) COOL WEATHER AND THE LAST 4 YEARS IN CENTRAL WASHINGTON (hot) weeks @ 90 deg plus with great results. My go to tomato.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2013-10-21 18:57:51
Not the best for Central TX
Posted By: W
Location: College Station, TX United States
Comments:
Tried these two seasons now - similar results. Started indoors and transplanted in spring. Vigorous plant produces only a few tomatoes compared to the bushels of Celebrity and Better Boy varieties. I agree with the others that this isn't the best variety for our TX climate/growing seasons.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2013-09-02 11:39:57
Early Girls in Texas
Posted By: Danye
Location: Dallas, TX United States
Comments:
This particular type if tomato happened to take a while to grow. I planted the sprouted seedlings in late April. They have been productive for the past month. Note of importance: They are very tasty when vine ripened. I have allowed to ripen on and off the vine.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2013-04-12 00:00:00
Not for Texas
Posted By: Andrew Cook
Location: Georgetown, Texas United States
Comments:
This may be a great plant for cooler climates but does not perform well in the hot summers of Texas. If you live in the south I would recommend more heat tolerant varieties such as beefsteak or mortgage lifter.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2013-01-26 00:00:00
Good Dependable
Posted By: Sue s
Location: Blue Point, NY United States
Comments:
I tried several tomato plants, Early Girl, Brandywine Black Krim Honey Bells cherry. Early Girl set several tomatoes in June, stopped for a while in July heat, started up again to produce well, neatly, compact plants. The others got so tall & then set a few huge plants that made staking difficult. Early Girl did the best overall, cooking, growing, staking

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2009-01-05 00:00:00
Good
Posted By: Wanda
Location: Stevensville, Montana United States
Comments:
I have tried these tomatoes as they ripen early, but you loose the taste. I recommend Brandywine. I start them indoors in yogurt cups and they ripen by end of August...they taste amazing

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2008-09-23 00:00:00
WOW what a producer
Posted By: Jeff
Location: Humboldt, TN United States
Comments:
I purchased 3 to 4 tomato plants from our local carrier and everyone of them did not produce a thing. I purchased these seeds and decide to give it another try. I planted these around mid July enough for 2 plants. Man oh Man I have tomato's running out my ears and they are still producing. I have eat them and frozen them. Will plant more next year and if these produce this great can' wait to see how the Gurney's Burgermaster VFFNT do!!!

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2008-09-13 00:00:00
great salad tomato
Posted By: Anthony
Location: Davison, Michigan United States
Comments:
This is the verr best salad Tomato ever... Needs early pruning for greater established root systems and less plant and more tomatoes.... Finest flavor with organic tomato fertilizer at intervals.... Plant deep in a small mound and mulch with landscape fabric. They don't like it wet better yield with dry soil for increased reproductivity.I used the tomato sray kit from gardens alive and Everyone loves!!!!! these tomatoes.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2008-07-23 00:00:00
Nice Quality! Very Vigorous!
Posted By: Danny Grogg
Location: Aloha, Oregon United States
Comments:
This was a excellent tomato with vigor, taste, and reliability. A great slicer too! I would rate it 5 Stars but the plant wasn't very sturdy. That was the only problem though. Other than that, I would recommend it!

Premium SSL Certificate