Send my FREE Garden
Catalog & Coupon Today!

Receive a FREE copy of the Gurney's Seed & Nursery catalog PLUS a coupon for $25 OFF by simply filling out the information below. And don't forget to fill one out for each of your gardening friends.

* First Name
* Last Name
* Address 1
Address 2
* City
* State
* Zip Code
* Email
* Required Email Enter your email address here to receive your
    $25 OFF Instant Coupon!

Get the latest deals from Gurney's Seed & Nursery!

Preview exciting new products, learn about special sale events and lots more.
Sign up to start receiving Gurney's Seed & Nursery e-mail updates.

View Product Reviews


15049A - Brandywine Tomato


< Return to product
 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2014-04-19 08:51:44
Brandywine Tomatoes
Posted By: Russell
Location: Burlington, IA United States
Comments:
Brandywine Tomatoes produce a lot of big, tasty beefsteak style tomatoes.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2014-02-06 20:57:08
Best tomato I have ever had!
Posted By: Steve
Location: Centerville, SD United States
Comments:
Brandywine is my favorite, but continue to try other varieties. Fun to experiment,lol. That's really what a home garden is all about. Great tomato, perfect blend of acid and sugar. Great BLT's.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2012-01-19 00:00:00
shocked
Posted By: Tim G
Location: Albany, Ky United States
Comments:
Irecently ordered a variety of heirloom tomato plant.When I recieved my seeds I was shocked and disappointed to see the words country of origin China on the packets of Brandywine seeds.They are advertised as Amish Variety established in 1885.Didnt know there was Amish in China.This will be my last order.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2011-12-08 00:00:00
Unbelievable
Posted By: Nelly
Location: Charlotte, NC United States
Comments:
"I couldn't believe how good this tomato tasted. I have always been kind of ""ick"" about tomatoes since I was a kid. I was literally pulling these off the vine, slicing them and eating them, no salt or anything! Only problem was they didn't bear for very long. It was still worth it!"

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2011-09-23 00:00:00
Delicious
Posted By: BRC
Location: Tahlequah, OK United States
Comments:
This was my first season growing tomatoes and the Brandywine is one of the two varieties we are going to grow again for sure (the other is Mortgage Lifter). These tomatoes are meaty and the flavor is amazing! The vines are still producing this fall and they are a good 8' tall!

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2010-12-29 00:00:00
My Favorite
Posted By: Robert
Location: Herbert, Kentucky United States
Comments:
Last year was my first serious attempt at a garden. I planted several different varieties of tomato plants to see which one I liked best. These were my pick of the lot! They had the best taste and produced very large tomato's. Even though we had a very dry year the plants were huge and did very well. I also really liked the Mortgage Lifter but thought these had a slightly better taste.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2009-08-14 00:00:00
VERY disappointing
Posted By: Cindy
Location: West Lafayette, IN United States
Comments:
If you want flavor, pass over this tomato. We were VERY crushed after planting this variety and ending up with absolutely NO flavorable fruit. I purchased after reading the reviews and my family was extremely disappointed.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2009-05-30 00:00:00
Brandywine plants
Posted By: Autumn
Location: Georgetown, TX United States
Comments:
I was excited after reading the reviews of this tomato, but they've been planted for about 2 months now and the plant is very healthy and growing very tall with healthy leaves and tons of blossoms, but the blossoms keep falling off. Not sure what I'm doing wrong. I even used the tomato food from Gurneys on them. I know it's hot in TX, and the hot weather is not agreeable with the plants, but it hss been relatively cool here so far and still no fruit. I guess brandywines don't do well in TX. Bummer.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2008-01-10 00:00:00
MMMMmmmm
Posted By: Deb
Location: Boise City, Oklahoma United States
Comments:
"Brandywine is about the last one, I have come in every year, and it is the sweetest one. Wonderful flavor! I cry every year, when I have to take that vine down and, I miss it terribly until the next year's one produces. It likes to crack, and everything seems to like to chomp on them too, but. This year that squirrel will find my Brandywine in it's own hardware mesh cage! No more getting my last haul of over a dozen just as they turn! It is a large vine and needs good strong large cage to keep it up though. Plant one and you will need one every year, no matter what other tomatoes you plant."

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2007-06-20 00:00:00
The *BEST* Tomato ON EARTH!
Posted By: Danny
Location: Beaverton, Oregon United States
Comments:
THIS IS THE BEST TOMATO FOR TASTE, SIZE & MORE! YOU WILL DEFINITLY NOT BE DISAPONITED!!! WE LIVE IN NW OREGON AND THEY STILL GROW ENORMOUS!

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2007-02-28 00:00:00
THE BEST
Posted By: JOE
Location: OKmulgee, Oklahoma United States
Comments:
THe best i ever had

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2007-02-22 00:00:00
brandywine tomato
Posted By: Marvin
Location: fitzgerald, georgia United States
Comments:
Brandywine tomatoes, are the best tasting tomato on planet earth, I guarantee you will not be disappointed, with this great Amish variety of tomato, I have been growing tomatoes, for my own use, and commercially for 40 years, its unbeatable!!!!! You can take that to the bank!!!!! I have grown most all varieties on the market, there is none better.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2007-02-03 00:00:00
one of the best
Posted By: Ernie
Location: Honaker, Virginia United States
Comments:
I have grown Brandywine tomatos for years and it has never failed on taste or size.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2007-02-03 00:00:00
Great tomeato
Posted By: Matt Reed
Location: Rockwell, Iowa United States
Comments:
I love this tomato, It is the sweetest tasting tomato I have ever eaten, it makes the biggest meatiest tomatoes I've ever eaten. It is great for canning because it doesn't take as many of these tomatoes. It is more susceptible to insects than other breeds of tomatoes.

Premium SSL Certificate