Send my FREE Garden
Catalog & Coupon Today!

Receive a FREE copy of the Gurney's Seed & Nursery catalog PLUS a coupon for $25 OFF by simply filling out the information below. And don't forget to fill one out for each of your gardening friends.

* First Name
* Last Name
* Address 1
Address 2
* City
* State
* Zip Code
* Email
* Required Email Enter your email address here to receive your
    $25 OFF Instant Coupon!

Get the latest deals from Gurney's Seed & Nursery!

Preview exciting new products, learn about special sale events and lots more.
Sign up to start receiving Gurney's Seed & Nursery e-mail updates.

View Product Reviews


14335A - Tendersweet Carrot


< Return to product
 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2012-01-02 00:00:00
Good Producer
Posted By: Olivia
Location: Pittsburgh, PA United States
Comments:
This carrot did very well in our garden this year. They seemed slow to reach a harvestable size, but we were still able to get two crops of it this year - one early and one late. Very sweet and tender. Will definitely grow this again.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2010-10-10 00:00:00
Good variety
Posted By: Matt Krause
Location: La Veta, CO United States
Comments:
My kids love these carrots. Germination rate was excellent. I'm going to have to grow even more next year. We grew two 12ft rows and got beatiful, big carrots. If they get too big they're really hard to get out, I think I need to add more mulch to my soil.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2010-03-27 00:00:00
The most amazing carrot ever
Posted By: Lyn
Location: Cumberland Center, Maine United States
Comments:
I have grown carrots for almost 30 years and have tried several versions of Nantes,Danvers,and Imperators along with anything else that sounded good, but nothing compares to Tendersweet. We have a very short growing season in Maine so I was shocked when I harvested really large and long Tendersweet carrots that actually were tender and sweet. It is the only kind I will grow anymore. These carrots are delicious raw or cooked. They keep a long time in the fridge and they freeze well. There is nothing negative to say about them except that you have to aggressively thin them because they grow so big. I only wish I had that problem with the rest of the vegetables in my garden.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2010-02-01 00:00:00
Always reliable
Posted By: Lonnie Arneson
Location: Big Lake, MN United States
Comments:
We've planted Tendersweet carrots for a few years. The yield is amazing! They are very tasty and great for canning!

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2010-02-01 00:00:00
Year-to-year favorite!
Posted By: Daryl
Location: Vancouver, WA United States
Comments:
I have grown these carrots for several years (since 1995)and shall continue to do so for many more. I have tried other varieties but the excellent flavor and less sugar content keep me coming back for more. The one note for planting in our clay soils in the Pacific NW is to amend the hard soil with organics & sand to prevent stunted and/or branched roots. Of course, since there is little sand in our soil, when you do amend it, the birds will go nuts 'bathing' themselves on your freshly-planted, sandy row...I cover it with netting and haven't had a problem since. Just a few dirty birds hanging around now scowling at the netting!

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2009-12-27 00:00:00
the only one
Posted By: khimilee
Location: mountain home, id United States
Comments:
I grow these every year. I always have enough to share and one friend said her daughter will only eat carrots if she tells her they are from Khimi's garden.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2009-07-28 00:00:00
Five-star for Exercise
Posted By: Linda
Location: Lennox, SD United States
Comments:
Many of my 2008 Tendersweets were 2 inches in diameter I have never worked so hard in my life to harvest a garden veggie because of their startling size. They were so huge that I was afraid I had left them in the garden too long. That did not make one bit of difference. They were unbelievably tasty, cooked or raw. The bonus was the physical exercise I received while getting them out of the ground!

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2009-02-18 00:00:00
best we have found
Posted By: rg
Location: schenectady, ny United States
Comments:
We grew these for years, then decided to try others over the last couple of yeard. We will go back to Tendersweet again this year. They grow the best in our sandy soil, very long and tasty. If you leave them in for a touch of frost they sweeten up even more.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2009-01-04 00:00:00
Stored extremely well...
Posted By: Rebecca
Location: Garland, ME United States
Comments:
I agree with the other reviewers that this carrot was slow to start and slow to mature. It wasn't very sweet, but it was very tasty. After the fall harvest, I stored them in plastic bags in the vegetable drawer in my refrigerator and they were still tasty and fresh the following May. We had garden carrot cake almost year round. Last year I tried a kaleidoscope variety. Bland and boring...this year I'm coming back to the Tendersweet!

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2009-01-02 00:00:00
best carrots we have grown
Posted By: larry
Location: sterling, co United States
Comments:
These carrots grew very long and were the best carrots we have grown.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2009-01-01 00:00:00
Long Lasting Taste
Posted By: Mike
Location: Lebanon, PA United States
Comments:
As others have noted, carrots are slow to germinate and slow to grow. They do germinate MUCH better if you keep the soil moist not letting it dry out. I planted tendersweets in May of 2008. My parents visited over Thanksgiving digging out some of the ones from May. They were HUGE in size! So large I thought they would be hard and tasteless, but I was mistaken! These carrots were still VERY TASTY being an inch to inch and a half in diameter. I am not a big carrot eater, but I eat these!

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2008-09-11 00:00:00
Not as sweet as expected
Posted By: Frank S
Location: Brooklyn Park, MN United States
Comments:
The taste was not very sweet. Since this is our 1st try at carrots, we'll try another variety for comparison.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2008-07-18 00:00:00
Slow starter
Posted By: A.
Location: St.Johns, AZ United States
Comments:
These carrots are slow to start (says that on the package), and requires constant moisture in the soil to germinate. But if your soil is moist/watered very often, ever seed tends to germinate, so becareful how you plant! They do take a long while, and are usually smallish in comparison to grocery store carrots... but the flavor is sweet, and the carrots almost never make it to the refrigerator in my house! No yucky tasting thick skin.. no super spicy off flavors at the top or taper.. just sweet, crisp carrot with just a little bit of spicy. Almost like a larger version of a baby carrot. If you're looking for quality over quanity, go with this type.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2007-06-20 00:00:00
GREAT!
Posted By: Bob
Location: PV, CA United States
Comments:
Great Delicious grew sort of slowly but worth the wait

Premium SSL Certificate