Send my FREE Garden
Catalog & Coupon Today!

Receive a FREE copy of the Gurney's Seed & Nursery catalog PLUS a coupon for $25 OFF by simply filling out the information below. And don't forget to fill one out for each of your gardening friends.

* First Name
* Last Name
* Address 1
Address 2
* City
* State
* Zip Code
* Email
* Required Email Enter your email address here to receive your
    $25 OFF Instant Coupon!

Get the latest deals from Gurney's Seed & Nursery!

Preview exciting new products, learn about special sale events and lots more.
Sign up to start receiving Gurney's Seed & Nursery e-mail updates.

View Product Reviews


14249A - Perfected Detroit Beet


< Return to product
 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2014-01-11 21:09:35
U.P. gardener
Posted By: Janet
Location: Engadine, MI United States
Comments:
This is a great northern grower. So much that after canning all we wanted we decided to make a little beet wine! Excellent!

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2012-08-02 00:00:00
Wonder Beets
Posted By: Patricia
Location: Hudson, MA United States
Comments:
I gave up growing beets years ago because they grew so small. I tried again this summer only because of the reviews of this type of beet were good. I am so happy I tried again. Big beets that are delicious are overtaking the garden. Almost every seed germinated. Finally, a good beet seed is available!! Thank you, Gurneys.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2012-02-07 00:00:00
Seed tape disappointing
Posted By: Highwinds Farm
Location: Geneseo, Ny United States
Comments:
Last year I bought seed tapes for beets, carrots, and lettuce. The germination was terrible. I went out and bought Burbee seeds and planted them right next to the tape and they germinated fine. I would not recommend any of the seed tapes under any circumstances.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2009-09-18 00:00:00
Happy gardener
Posted By: Michelle
Location: Peebles, Ohio United States
Comments:
I found your beets very easy to grow in my clay soil and when I harvested them.....They were great and they canned real good also. I will allways plant these type. Thank you

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2009-09-15 00:00:00
Amazing
Posted By: Debbie
Location: Newton Falls, OH United States
Comments:
These beets were AMAZING! Huge crop from just 1 twenty foot row. Some grew as big as softballs but tasted just as good as the smaller ones without becoming pithy.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2009-07-04 00:00:00
Very tasty
Posted By: Jack
Location: Wooster, Ohio United States
Comments:
This is the first time we ever grew beets. Quite tasteful and juicy. Will probably be able to get in a second crop. No regrets.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2009-03-04 00:00:00
Just Like Candy
Posted By: Jenna
Location: Archbold, Ohio United States
Comments:
I don't usually leave reviews, but I want everyone to know that these are amazing! They are sweet like candy. Even my picky eaters love them. I wouldn't try anything else.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2008-11-20 00:00:00
Love Em
Posted By: Janet
Location: Carnation, WA United States
Comments:
I love the Perfected Detroit Beets. Fresh and pickled with an amazing taste! Great germination rate when compared to Forono Beets.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2008-06-07 00:00:00
Great tasting!
Posted By: Sue
Location: Independence, MN United States
Comments:
These beets taste great. We love to serve them sliced as a chilled salad, with just salt & pepper, vinegar and oil, and sometimes a little onion. I don't pick my beets all at once. I harvest them as I consume them; they don't seem to mind staying in the soil.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2007-05-09 00:00:00
Absolutely the best
Posted By: Sheila
Location: White Lake, MI United States
Comments:
People who don't care for beets very much like these. If you DO like beets, you'll love them!! I'll never again plant anything else. Tried Detroit last year for comparison - there is none. Detroit is good, but definately 2nd best.

Premium SSL Certificate