Send my FREE Garden
Catalog & Coupon Today!

Receive a FREE copy of the Gurney's Seed & Nursery catalog PLUS a coupon for $25 OFF by simply filling out the information below. And don't forget to fill one out for each of your gardening friends.

* First Name
* Last Name
* Address 1
Address 2
* City
* State
* Zip Code
* Email
* Required Email Enter your email address here to receive your
    $25 OFF Instant Coupon!

Get the latest deals from Gurney's Seed & Nursery!

Preview exciting new products, learn about special sale events and lots more.
Sign up to start receiving Gurney's Seed & Nursery e-mail updates.

View Product Reviews


14196A - Purple Pod Pole Beans


< Return to product
 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2011-06-01 00:00:00
HUGE Producer
Posted By: Katie
Location: Twin Valley, Minnesota United States
Comments:
I had so many beans from my 25 foot-2 sided row that I had enough for our family of 4, my parents, 2 neighbor couples, and a friend's family of 3, her parents, and in-laws! My beans went completely wacky! I plant them on a 6 ft fence, and if I put up a 12 footer, they would go all the way to the top of that. These are a monster producer from the first bean in the spring to the first hard frost. Plan to pick almost every other day!

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2010-01-01 00:00:00
Good but stringy
Posted By: John
Location: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma United States
Comments:
The beans made an extremely attractive vine grown on our deck in the backyard. Easy to see and pick - but pick them early because the strings become quite prominent if they are allowed to mature. First bean I ever ate fresh and they had an excellent flavor. Cooked, they were kind of tough.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2009-10-29 00:00:00
SWEET!!!!
Posted By: Maryann
Location: Gloversville, New York United States
Comments:
Living in Upstate New york this past summer was all rain and very cool. I had SO MANY beans I could not believe it!! I had mine on bean towers and they grew Great! They were about the only thing in my garden that grew so well. I was picking beans every other day and they are so sweet.We are still enjoying them because they freeze so well. I will be ordering more. This time I am buying a pound!

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2009-07-06 00:00:00
Purple perfection!
Posted By: Carrie
Location: Bennington, VT United States
Comments:
My son and I both prefer our beans raw over cooked, and these are perfect! They are tender, sweet, and wonderful right off the vine. They also add a nice splash of color when cut up and added into a tossed salad. Mine are growing in a container near my front door, and I liked them so much I planted a second crop. These will be an annual crop at our house!

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2009-01-01 00:00:00
Fantastic!
Posted By: Jennifer
Location: Salem, Oregon United States
Comments:
We have been planting Purple Pod Pole beans since 1979 and have been extremely happy with them! They amaze our friends, make great dilly beans, are great fresh, frozen and canned. They are the most versatile and hardy bean we have ever planted. One year we planted 8 - 25 ft. rows and harvested over 700 lbs!

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2008-07-24 00:00:00
Purple Pod Passion
Posted By: Mark
Location: Miles City, Montana United States
Comments:
I ordered a packet of Purple Pod Pole Beans a few years ago to grow as a novelty. Boy was I surprised. Loved the flavor. And they are so easy to spot when harvesting. This is the only kind of pole beans I grow and I recommend them to all my gardening friends (including you!)

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2007-07-23 00:00:00
Outstanding crop!
Posted By: Terri
Location: Alexandria, Louisiana United States
Comments:
This was the best pole bean I have ever planted! It has continued to bear prolifically in spite of our heat and humidity. Flavor is excellent & it freezes well also. Will definitely plant it again next year.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2007-07-16 00:00:00
Slow down Bean Beetles
Posted By: Jennie Lillpop
Location: Grand Junction, Colorado United States
Comments:
Thirty years ago Bean Beetles decimated all our Bush Beans two years in a row. Then I planted Gurneys' Purple Pole Beans. Only a few beetles visited that year and were easily controlled. For twenty-eight years we have enjoyed the nutty flavor and beautiful vines loaded with long purple beans. Our landscape would not be as unique without Gurney's pole beans in the background. Thank you Gurneys.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2007-07-12 00:00:00
great performer
Posted By: Tom Stevens
Location: South Boston, Virginia United States
Comments:
These beans have done very well in our driest summer in many years. Heavy mulching and some watering have produced a bountiful and tasty crop.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2007-07-12 00:00:00
Wonderful!
Posted By: Belinda
Location: Portland, OR United States
Comments:
My grandparents introduced these beans to our skeptical family. We all love them. Best beans ever!

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2007-06-01 00:00:00
Awesome Beans
Posted By: Angela
Location: Pineville, LA United States
Comments:
I have grown these beans for 2 years now. We love them!!!

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2007-03-11 00:00:00
purple pole beans
Posted By: brian
Location: little chute, wi United States
Comments:
really great beans we've been growing them for years. all my friends love them. and they are easy to find in the green vines.

Premium SSL Certificate