Send my FREE Garden
Catalog & Coupon Today!

Receive a FREE copy of the Gurney's Seed & Nursery catalog PLUS a coupon for $25 OFF by simply filling out the information below. And don't forget to fill one out for each of your gardening friends.

* First Name
* Last Name
* Address 1
Address 2
* City
* State
* Zip Code
* Email
* Required Email Enter your email address here to receive your
    $25 OFF Instant Coupon!

Get the latest deals from Gurney's Seed & Nursery!

Preview exciting new products, learn about special sale events and lots more.
Sign up to start receiving Gurney's Seed & Nursery e-mail updates.

View Product Reviews


14155A - Early Contender Bush Beans


< Return to product
 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2014-07-03 02:09:15
Very good beans
Posted By: Brian Mefford
Location: Gretna, NE United States
Comments:
These beans grew well and are delicious! I will definitely buy again!

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2012-12-18 00:00:00
Awesome taste and production
Posted By: DJ
Location: Euless, TX United States
Comments:
We planted 3 - 15ft rows of these (seeds were from 3 years ago) in mid-September. Germination was great! Harvested, ate and froze so many we got tired of picking them. Awesome flavor! Several folks commented they were the best green bean they had tasted. I believe I will have enough frozen to last most of 2013!

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2012-04-28 00:00:00
More than a contender...these are champs
Posted By: Bob Cooper
Location: Baker, Fl United States
Comments:
Great taste great producer. In our first large garden we are reaping a bounty of real good tasting beans. Sharing with friends, they love them too.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2012-01-20 00:00:00
good crop
Posted By: Jim Gardner
Location: Kahoka, MO United States
Comments:
Grew the Early Contenders last year and I will again this year. They came on early, stayed productive and had plenty for the neighbors to enjoy also.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2011-12-14 00:00:00
Farmers Market
Posted By: Vickie Fryman
Location: Cynthiana, Kentucky United States
Comments:
grew these for the second straight yr for selling at local Farmers Markets and my customers LOVE this bean. These beans were sold to many CSA customers in a nearby Farmers Market and they realy enjoyed them as well. Will continue to grow these for my loyal customers. Thanks Gurneys for a great product.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2011-03-20 00:00:00
Awesome beans
Posted By: Amy
Location: Philadelphia, PA United States
Comments:
I loved these beans, and they grew easily. The abundance of tasty beans was a surprise. We sauteed up so many beans. I'm planting twice the amount this year.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2010-07-18 00:00:00
Not as advertised
Posted By: Jim Oliver
Location: Bluffton, Indiana United States
Comments:
One of our summer favorites is green beans from the garden. This year we tried your Early Contender stringless beans. They were not stringless. Will not be buying these from Gurney's again.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2010-07-12 00:00:00
Great Beans!
Posted By: Liz
Location: Orland, Indiana United States
Comments:
These beans have been producing for the past 2 weeks like crazy! They are much faster than our pole beans that are still flowering. They are also the sweetest, most tasty beans I have ever planted! I will be buying these again next year for sure!!!

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2010-06-16 00:00:00
Low on Flavor
Posted By: Amber
Location: Athens, TN United States
Comments:
These beans were quite easy to grow- though I must say that they just did not seem to have the flavor of the Kentucky wonder's- My in-laws did not like them at all, so we will switch back to KY wonder beans next year.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2010-06-12 00:00:00
Best Beans Ever
Posted By: CJ
Location: Golconda, Illinois United States
Comments:
These beans are the best I've ever planted. They came up beautifully and when cooked, everyone said they were the best ever. Hands down on taste and growing they are the best.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2009-10-13 00:00:00
Wonderful beans
Posted By: Stephanie
Location: Mahomet, IL United States
Comments:
Planted on Mother's Day and was still picking in October. I actually planted another crop where my corn had been and have had a couple of large pickings already from it!

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2009-08-26 00:00:00
Beautiful Crop
Posted By: Salena
Location: Princeton, TX United States
Comments:
These grew so nice, my husband just loved the harvest and we cant wait for this weekend plant our 2nd planting of them for the season!

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2009-08-14 00:00:00
bounces back from deer
Posted By: Julia Lichty
Location: Blairstown, NJ United States
Comments:
I planted these directly in my garden as soon as I received the seeds. They sprouted beautifully and quickly. After thinning them myself, some local deer decided to crop the whole row down to nubbins! I upped the watering and fertilizing, doubled up on the deer repellent, and all but one of the plants regrew, producing a great harvest of delicious, tender beans.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2009-08-06 00:00:00
Close but no cigarre
Posted By: steve
Location: Bonfield, Illinois United States
Comments:
These plants produced an abundance of great beans but the plant itself was tiny I even , on accident, pulled out the whole plant when I was picking a ripe bean

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2009-08-05 00:00:00
Keep on Producing
Posted By: Marie
Location: McDonough, Georgia United States
Comments:
Picked my first batch the first week of June,2009. Today is August 5th and they are still producing.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2009-07-28 00:00:00
Best Green Beans Ever!
Posted By: Robyn Burgess
Location: Emmett, Idaho United States
Comments:
I have grown these for 4 years now and they have never disappointed me. I get about 6 pickings off of them. These beans grow fast, straight, and are extremely tender. I buy extra packages, so I always have them on hand. Awesome beans!

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2009-07-20 00:00:00
Best Green Bean
Posted By: Billy
Location: Clear Spring, MD United States
Comments:
We planted these this year for the first time and canned over 14 quarts off the first picking. Excellent yields off two short rows and rapid germination of the plants despite a soggy spring.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2009-06-29 00:00:00
great!
Posted By: Greg
Location: South Fulton, TN United States
Comments:
We have had a wet season here, Planted them later than I wanted. They are already producing great. I planted my blue bush green beans first. These are already producing! Very pleased, family loves them!

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2009-06-22 00:00:00
fast producer
Posted By: austin
Location: Richmond, kentucky United States
Comments:
First time ever had a garden and bought all my stuff from gurney's. The beans produced in a month I just picked them and had them yesterday and unbelivable, taste good and look great. Tons of compliments.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2009-03-07 00:00:00
Best taste
Posted By: Lee
Location: Des Moines United States
Comments:
longest production

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2009-02-06 00:00:00
Wonderful Bean....
Posted By: Derrick Lowery
Location: Wildwood, Georgia United States
Comments:
Have bought this bean 3 years in a row and plan to continue. These beans were excellent in fresh taste. I also canned quite alot of them and it's true that nothing stops them....except deer. Dang it!

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2009-01-16 00:00:00
Awesome
Posted By: Luke
Location: Brainerd, Minnesota United States
Comments:
This is one of the best bush beans I have planted! they seem to grow fast and produce faster than we can pick them! We canned many quarts and froze many more! ended up giving tons away as well! All of my friends and family ate well too!

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2008-12-29 00:00:00
Best I've Planted
Posted By: Pete
Location: Boulder Junction, WI United States
Comments:
Reliable, tasty, hardy bean that we enjoy fresh, and then freeze up a bunch for winter use. Excellent germination; grows thickly and shades out weeds. Plants are loaded with beans about a week ahead of others. A must in my garden.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2008-07-17 00:00:00
easy best yeild
Posted By: Juanita
Location: Church Hill, tennessee United States
Comments:
These beans grew fast. Planted a pound. Had 91 quarts canned. Still have more beans to go. No blight, no rot, and sprayed for bugs once. The best bean I've used. Will plant more next year. Great taste and tender too!

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2008-03-19 00:00:00
Foolproof
Posted By: Catherine
Location: Cherry Hill, New Jersey United States
Comments:
I am a beginner and tried these last year. They matured fast and set a good crop. I don't have a green thumb yet, but I know that as long as I plant some of these again this year, at least I'll have some success in the garden.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2008-03-17 00:00:00
Excellent Germination and Production
Posted By: Jeremy
Location: Sharonville, Ohio United States
Comments:
With a great germination rate, high production, and fantastic taste, this bean is a must try. I tend to rotate through varieties always looking for something better than the year before. Contender beans will be hard to top. Yields of better than 27 lbs of beans on a 4 x 15 bed and easily removed from the stems. I stopped picking a bit past midway through the season due to drought.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2008-02-18 00:00:00
Best Bush Bean Ever
Posted By: Robyn
Location: Emmett, Idaho United States
Comments:
These beans grow very easy and quick. They produce large quantities of tender long green beans. I usually got 2-3 large pickings from each plant. We froze and canned them, great all around bean. My Mom even asked where I got these from!

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2007-01-28 00:00:00
Early Contender Bush Bean
Posted By: Cusson
Location: Manchester, NH United States
Comments:
An excellent flavorful bean that is easy to grow. Tastes well cooked or uncooked. It grows very well with potatoes and we had no pests problems at all. We received bountiful harvests and vigorous growth using direct sunlight and Miracle Gro fertilizer. Recommend staggered plantings for continuous harvests.

Premium SSL Certificate