Send my FREE Garden
Catalog & Coupon Today!

Receive a FREE copy of the Gurney's Seed & Nursery catalog PLUS a coupon for $25 OFF by simply filling out the information below. And don't forget to fill one out for each of your gardening friends.

* First Name
* Last Name
* Address 1
Address 2
* City
* State
* Zip Code
* Email
* Required Email Enter your email address here to receive your
    $25 OFF Instant Coupon!

Get the latest deals from Gurney's Seed & Nursery!

Preview exciting new products, learn about special sale events and lots more.
Sign up to start receiving Gurney's Seed & Nursery e-mail updates.

View Product Reviews


13893 - Dwarf Fig


< Return to product
 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2011-12-26 00:00:00
Good Patio Plant
Posted By: Ryan
Location: Attleboro, MA United States
Comments:
Plant was very small when I first got it. It has grown a ton over the last few years. I live in SE MA, I move my fig trees out to the patio in spring and back into my garage in mid fall. I've gotten figs my first 3 years I've had the tree. No edible figs my first year. Only one edible fig my second year. This past summer, my third year I must have got at least 30 figs. Really good. Keep evenly watered. Don't let it get dry or stressed. Hit my figs with two scotts fruit tree spikes every spring and compost.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2011-09-07 00:00:00
Wonderful plant
Posted By: Ashley
Location: Madison, Wisconsin United States
Comments:
When we received this dwarf fig tree, I was incredibly doubtful as it was little more than a small stick with a few leaves. It's only been a few months and this fig has gone nuts! We planted it in a relatively large container and left it outside in the sun, and its doing wonderfully. I've already had to prune some small shoots down at the bottom and it has gorgeous giant and healthy leaves. I don't doubt it will be producing figs in a couple of months!

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2011-08-04 00:00:00
fig tree
Posted By: ray marshall
Location: Lerona, West Virginia United States
Comments:
I live in the southern end of West Virginia. I was reluctant to order these trees because I figured they wouldn't produce fruit here unless you planted them in a container and store then inside during the Winter. What I have experienced is that I loanted three of these trees in April, 2011 and they produced leaves already and I have witnessed and was completely shocked to see some Figs on two of the trees. The tallest tree is about 18 inches tall. Had I knew that they would produce fruit so soon an in this area, I would have planted them years ago. I am just waiting to taste the ripened fruit.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2011-06-03 00:00:00
A hardy one
Posted By: Tien
Location: Flushing, NY United States
Comments:
Just wanted to let everyone know that even if the dwarf fig loses all of its leaves, DO NOT assume it has died. It may be entering a dormant phase especially when you've received it sometime in the fall. Even though I've kept my fig tree indoors as soon as I received it, all of its leaves fell out at one point (It didn't help that I replaced of its soil at one point). However, after a period of dormancy where the plant looks like a wooden stick out of the soil, the plant regrew its leaves and I see 4 fig buds!

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2011-04-23 00:00:00
Favorite plant!
Posted By: Sue
Location: Wilmington, Delaware United States
Comments:
I took a chance, being in zone 7, and planted my fig outdoors. We do get winters here with many nights below freezing, even in the teens. My fig has survived. After several summers, it now produces over a hundred figs, and I eat them all! (I can't bear to give them away). I don't get two seasons of production, however. I started my little plant in a 2' X 4' container but had to transplant it into the ground after two years. I heavily mulch it in the fall and often worry come spring that it has died (I do lose branches occasionally), but the plant is a survivor. The leaves are so beautiful! The shape of the plant is more like a shrub with multiple stems than a tree. The figs continue to ripen over several weeks, but you have to watch them carefully since once they are fully ripe, they can crack, and the juice that they ooze really attracts the ants.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2010-08-16 00:00:00
Faithful And Tasty
Posted By: A. Horne
Location: Douglasville, Georgia United States
Comments:
Excellent plant. This fig tree produced 2 months after I purchased it in 2009. This is now the second year and it produced 8 figs for the summer. In ignorance' I cut 7 of the fruit off the tree because I thought something was wrong with the fact that the figs weren't ripening fast enough. Low and behold, 2 weeks after cutting off the 7 unripened figs, the fig I mistakenly left on the tree was ripe and beautiful. Needlesstosay, after eating that lone sweet delicious fig, I was really disappointed with myself for not waiting the time for the other seven to fully ripen.The fig was off the hook! It was really sweet, juicy, and delicious. I will never let impatience happen again because the one fig that made it was excellent and I can't wait for the fall crop. I see 3 buds coming up already. Gurney, you have done it again. New fig tree growers, if you need to know how long it takes for the figs to ripen, it took mine about 2-2and 1 half months. Don't get discouraged and pluck em off like I did, sit back and anticipate a very delicious and healthy snack that you cannot compare with the taste in a store!

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2010-06-07 00:00:00
Wonderful!
Posted By: Robin
Location: Yakima, WA United States
Comments:
I purchased this fig about this time last year. It was a tiny sprig when it arrived. We placed it in a large pot with good potting soil then placed it in front of a long window in our living room. Last month it produced 1 fig. I ate half and gave half to my boyfriend. It was delicious. It now has about 5 fig buds on it. We can't wait to enjoy them. It has 11 leaves on it. We have a new kitten that likes to bat its large leaves. It has endured nicely. It is a conversation piece in my house as people in Yakima, WA do not have fig trees of any sort... lots of apples and cherries but no figs. I want to purchase a few more of these once I can make room for them.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2010-04-26 00:00:00
Longevity
Posted By: J Rietzke
Location: Savannah, GA United States
Comments:
I purchased this fig when I was in Raleigh, NC about 10 years ago and it lived in a steel garbage can while I was there. It produced several pounds of wonderful fruit for me every year while I was in NC. I brought it with me to GA seven years ago and finally gave it a permanent home in my new front yard. After it assimilated to the new environment it produced for me again at a pleasing rate. This was one of the best plants I have ever purchased! Thank you Gurneys!

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2010-03-31 00:00:00
aheartylesson
Posted By: Harold
Location: Richmond, Virginia United States
Comments:
A fig tree is a fun, and a positive investment to make - when I was a kid, my Grandma would show me how to cover them over for the winters of zone 6 around Englewood New Jersey, and that I would like to purchase one again for this new place that I am living in, in (real memories of her). (Helen Neal) passed away January 11th - 2002. A Gurneys best customer of 89years of age!

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2010-03-01 00:00:00
Got Dwarf Fig Plant Today
Posted By: Kenneth
Location: San Antonio, TX United States
Comments:
"Plant arrived in ventilated carboard box (5""x6""x11""). The pot measures (2""x2""x3-1/2"" tall). Soil was moist and plant looks in pretty good health. Plant in pot stands 9"" tall. Has 4 leaves, each about 3-1/2"" long and 1 smaller leaf about 1 inch long. 1 big leaf evidently died in transit. Keep you posted."

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2009-11-24 00:00:00
It's huge now!
Posted By: Mary
Location: San Antonio, Texas United States
Comments:
When I got this fig tree I thought it would be a stick with one leaf forever. It had once a week watering this summer during the biggest drought in decades and by the fall it was 4 feet tall, bushy, tons of leaves, and probably 20-30 figs so far! I'm amazed!

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2009-11-17 00:00:00
Fast grower
Posted By: Linda J
Location: Columbus, OHio United States
Comments:
When I got this, it was a one foot twig. I was doubtful; however, it grew in leaps and bounds. I did not get fruit this year. The instructions indicate that it can grow to 10 feet and you will need to repot.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2009-11-15 00:00:00
Simply the Best!
Posted By: Sandra
Location: Rochester, MN United States
Comments:
I grew this on the patio in a Waterfarm. At the end of summer I had about a 4 ft fig plant with 16 figs (so far). I am eating them as they ripen and fall off the tree. The flavor is incredible. I have purchased fresh and dried in the stores, but these are WAY better. I am very impressed with this fig. It takes a LOT of water. I had to watch it pretty close because it drank a lot when it was growing and setting fruit. Entertaining to watch it grow. I would highly recommend this plant.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2009-10-21 00:00:00
Little Fig
Posted By: Mary B
Location: Cotter, AR United States
Comments:
This cute little tree just arrived. Looks very healthy! Lots of leaves and 1 little FIG! I'm a happy customer :)

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2009-09-27 00:00:00
Tiny Tim my dwarf fig
Posted By: Curtis
Location: Dayton, Ohio United States
Comments:
"When my fig tree came he was verry small, but he grew extreamly fast. In just a few short months, over foot in height and a dozen green figs, ""Tinny Tim"" is the best house plant I've ever had."

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2009-08-11 00:00:00
Magic Fig Tree!!!
Posted By: V
Location: NY, NY United States
Comments:
I received my fig tree in excellent condition on 5/15/09 & today is 8/11/09 & I have 1 mid-size fig on a 5 inch tall plant/tree that lives on my windowsill in a 6 inch pot. It's absolutely amazing!!!! I have a photo, but there is no feature to attach it to this posting to brag.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2009-08-10 00:00:00
Great plant!
Posted By: Kristen
Location: Grand Junction, Colorado United States
Comments:
I just bought this plant 4 months ago and put it outside and it grew from 6 inches to almost 2feet and it has figs growing on it already. This is a great plant.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2009-05-01 00:00:00
2 inch plant
Posted By: James V
Location: marysville, WA United States
Comments:
I received the plant it was really small. Gurneys will really take care and support your purchase. Have full confidence!

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2009-04-20 00:00:00
Great little tree
Posted By: Linsey
Location: Ashton, MD United States
Comments:
"Bought this tiny 4"" tree in Spring 2008. Potted it in a large container and by December it had branched out into 5 main stems with multiple smaller branches reaching about 36"" tall and it produced 7 fruit. Amazing in the first year. They are still green and I look forward to tasting the figs."

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2008-10-10 00:00:00
great plants
Posted By: jkunsman
Location: wellsville, utah United States
Comments:
We got our fig tree this spring 2008. It was only about 4 inches. It is now almost 2 1/2 feet tall and has 19 figs on it. Can't wait to taste.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2008-10-06 00:00:00
Little Bit Of Paradise
Posted By: Thomas
Location: New York, New York United States
Comments:
I received this fig as a gift in the fall of 2006. It now has two stems about three and a half feet tall and three stems about a foot tall. This summer/autumn (2008) it produced 21 figs. They are still only about an inch big and green. I am waiting for them to ripen, so I can indulge. Indoors, it brings with it a little bit of the tropics and is a great conversation piece.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2008-09-12 00:00:00
Dwarf fig
Posted By: S
Location: Uxbridge, Ma United States
Comments:
In one year my fig tree went from about 4 inches to almost 2 feet. It looked like it would just keep on growing so I cut off the tips and now it producing figs. I have 5 very sweet little figs that are getting bigger, I can't wait to eat them.....This is a very nice tree and is producing fruit in the first year, you can't beat that.

Premium SSL Certificate