Send my FREE Garden
Catalog & Coupon Today!

Receive a FREE copy of the Gurney's Seed & Nursery catalog PLUS a coupon for $25 OFF by simply filling out the information below. And don't forget to fill one out for each of your gardening friends.

* First Name
* Last Name
* Address 1
Address 2
* City
* State
* Zip Code
* Email
* Required Email Enter your email address here to receive your
    $25 OFF Instant Coupon!

Get the latest deals from Gurney's Seed & Nursery!

Preview exciting new products, learn about special sale events and lots more.
Sign up to start receiving Gurney's Seed & Nursery e-mail updates.

View Product Reviews


13882 - Dwarf Banana


< Return to product
 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2014-06-20 19:01:40
BIG leaves no dwarf here!
Posted By: christine coco
Location: coldwater, MI United States
Comments:
I received this plant just seven months ago and this plant is growing like crazy it loves the sun! I would think I will not have to wait two years for fruit! Very happy with it =D

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2012-09-02 00:00:00
Finally Bananas!
Posted By: Sarah Coffey
Location: Fayetteville, WV United States
Comments:
I bought this plant in 2007 and I have bananas this year!! I just noticed them yesterday so I have not ate any yet for they are still growing! I am glad I waited all those years

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2012-04-27 00:00:00
Waiting for fruit
Posted By: Pat
Location: Medford, NJ United States
Comments:
I purchased the Dwarf Banana plant in 2005 and have had many pups from the original plant that grow very large & healthy but I have not grown or seen the start of any fruit in all the plants to date. If anyone has a suggestion on how to make the plants bear fruit please let me know what I need to do - Thanks.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2011-11-26 00:00:00
Banana update
Posted By: Tiffany
Location: Hickory, NC United States
Comments:
I've had my banana for 1 year now. She is almost 6 ft tall. I put her outdoors from April-September. She stays in a sunny room during the colder months. She produced seven pups. I left two alone. The other five got their own pots. Now the opups are getting huge. I hope the original plant and some of her pups produce bananas this summer. Now the pups are having pups and I'm running out of room indoors.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2011-07-22 00:00:00
tropics in Ohio
Posted By: Rebecca Gillig
Location: Alvada, Ohio United States
Comments:
I am trying to create the look of the tropics at my home. This plant really helps to create that. Just received it this spring of 2011,it gets a new leaf about once a week, and looks just beautiful. I am very happy with this little tree. We are having very hot and humid weather right now so I'm sure that is really helping it to grow. I do have it in a pot so I can move it indoors for the winter.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2011-05-06 00:00:00
Pleasantly Surprised
Posted By: Liz
Location: Foss, Ok United States
Comments:
After ordering the dwarf banana and reading the reviews I expected a dead stump or something. It came in really great shape and is growing great. Very happy.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2010-12-12 00:00:00
Fast grower
Posted By: Tiffany
Location: Hickory, NC United States
Comments:
The 1 1/2 foot plant was received promptly. It had three leaves upon arrival, two of which I cut off due to poor condition. I planted it in a pot with a mixture of peat moss, potting soil, and vermiculite to prevent compaction. In five days, a new leaf began to protrude from the center stem. Eight days later, another leaf appeared. A week later, another leaf. And another...

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2010-10-20 00:00:00
Real conversation starter
Posted By: Ron
Location: Mason, TX United States
Comments:
"Ordered two, since I thought ""dwarf"" would mean small. It definitely did not work out that way. Thought they were dead when I opened the box, but in one season they have become magnificent five foot plants sporting three foot leaves. Luckily, I have two greenhouses so each can have their own home for the winter. They have both produced little plantlets at their bases, so I assume I now own a banana plantation. Love these plants."

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2010-10-02 00:00:00
HUGE
Posted By: nick
Location: Fulton, NY United States
Comments:
I live in ny ive had this banana tree for 7 year Ive benn trying to get it to fruit but the banana tree got HUGE this summer it got 6 feet tall and wide(i put it in a sunny spot)all they do is grow and grow!! no fruit but the foliage makes it worth it some times when theres three or more adult banana trees in the pot i cut one off its nice and all but i gave it 4 stars cause i never havested any fruit no buds either

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2010-09-14 00:00:00
Good Houseplant
Posted By: Winston
Location: Winnetka, Illinois United States
Comments:
When i first got this tree, i thought it was dead. but then in july i put it outside, and it shot up out of nowhere. i recommend this plant to banana lovers and all else!

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2010-09-08 00:00:00
AMAZED!
Posted By: Crystal
Location: Sandstone, Minnesota United States
Comments:
Bought this tree this spring. Started it off in miracle grow. June, i placed it outside, in FULL sun, all day, with lots of water to drink. The little tree jumped up to what is now almost 3'!! I'm so Amazed how healthy, strong, and fast it's grown in almost 4 months!

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2010-08-07 00:00:00
Awesome Plant
Posted By: Derek
Location: Boise City, Oklahoma United States
Comments:
I got this plant about 2 1/2 yrs ago and it has done really good. My first one didnt grow and died and Gurney's quickly replaced it at no cost and the new one i recieved has grown alot. It's about 4ft tall now and no banana's yet but i know it wont be long before i see some. I would recommend potting this in a big pot because i had to move mine to a bigger one. Thanks Gurneys!!

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2010-06-09 00:00:00
Great plant!
Posted By: Trey
Location: Muldrow, Oklahoma United States
Comments:
I received the banana tree as a gift for birthday last year. It has grown and looks wonderful. Havent seen a banana yet, but know they will one day get there. Great buy!

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2010-06-06 00:00:00
Best Plant EVER!
Posted By: Karen
Location: Ames, Iowa United States
Comments:
I bought my banana plant (they are not actually trees) like three or so years ago. I absolutely LOVE it! It did get much bigger than the original description stated but it is such a cool plant to own I forgive it for taking over about a quarter of the room it is in. It produced bananas last year, they were delicious! The main stalk dies after making bananas so leave at least one baby plant in the pot to take over. I was able to dig one of the extra baby plants out and put it in its own pot, I'll likely be giving it to my little sister. My plant seems to love the plant lights I have on it 24/7 and I fertilize it with a general fertilizer probably about once a month.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2010-04-14 00:00:00
Does well indoors
Posted By: Ken B
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah United States
Comments:
I bought this Dwarf Banana Tree three years ago. I was living in Boise Idaho at the time. The tree thrived. I moved to Utah and it is still thriving. I'd recommend this tree to anyone.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2010-04-12 00:00:00
The tropics in Chicago
Posted By: Roy
Location: Chicago, IL United States
Comments:
I got mine a year ago and have kept in indoors. It's now 7 feet tall with leaves around 3 1/2 feet in length. Even if I never get banana's its a great addition to the room. New leaf every 2-3 weeks.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2010-03-22 00:00:00
Did anyone read the description of the Dwarf Banana Tree??
Posted By: W.
Location: Cypress, Tx United States
Comments:
I can't wait for my banana tree to arrive. People be patient it does say that it takes 3-5 years to see fruit. Wish everyone best of luck with their tree/s. Take care everyone.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2010-03-15 00:00:00
It's Pretty
Posted By: Christi
Location: Haskell, OK United States
Comments:
Okay I do love my Banana Tree. I haven't gotten anything off of it yet and beginning to think I never will but I still really like it. The leaves are a gorgious color and texture so it really livens up my room. It is going on just over 2 years now since I planted it and is still going strong. I do have to give that it is a hearty plant because I haven't been able to kill it yet.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2010-01-21 00:00:00
Great little tree!
Posted By: Jessica
Location: Fremont, IN United States
Comments:
I purchased the banana tree a little under a year ago. It has been a great plan! The only problem I have is that my cat likes to eat the leaves! :) It is very easy to care for. I actually put mine into a larger pot, but it is doing quite well. It is about 18 tall right now. I would highly recommend this tree to others.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2009-12-30 00:00:00
Beautiful Plant - No Fruit
Posted By: B Dillon
Location: Branson, MO United States
Comments:
The dwarf banana tree is beautiful out on the deck but after four years, it has never ever produced fruit. Last summer I planted it outside in the yard and it grew to eight foot tall, but still did not produce fruit.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2009-09-22 00:00:00
Banana plant
Posted By: Beau Thomas
Location: "Lingle,", Wyoming United States
Comments:
Well I have had this plant/tree for a year & half and it seems to grow and grow, wish I knew how tall it will actualy get. Right now it is about 5 to 6 feet tall and in the discription it says that they only get 3-5 feet. I think they need to change a few things with selling the plant. thanks

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2009-09-19 00:00:00
Holds up in heat
Posted By: Sonia
Location: Sacramento, CA United States
Comments:
Our plant started out small and has grown rapidly over only a few months. It is constantly turning out new sturdy leaves. Our temperatures reach into the hundreds regularly and it has held up in direct sun. Right now it is potted (small pot) and is doing well in potting soil with good drainage.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2009-08-21 00:00:00
Very Nice Looking Plant
Posted By: Toni
Location: Wisconsin Rapids, WI United States
Comments:
I have had my plant for about 1 year and it has grown very well. It is about 2 feet tall and in the summer grows a new giant leaf each week (placed outdoors in full sun, and indoors for all of winter). I have researched what to do with the sprout that started to grow off it about 2 weeks ago and decided to cut it off at the base. It has only been in water for 1 day and is growing roots! So now I will have 2 leafy green banana trees!! No fruit yet but the tree is very young for that.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2009-07-22 00:00:00
Good Buy
Posted By: Nolan
Location: Ashton, MD United States
Comments:
I purchased 2 of these great little plants just for fun. They were not so little when I got them, they grow great even up in the North East. Will definately order more from this site.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2009-03-14 00:00:00
Really disappointed
Posted By: Amanda
Location: Chicago, Illinois United States
Comments:
I bought this plant three years ago. The first summer after it was purchased it became infested with a number of pests - mites, maggots, etc. The initial plant eventually succumbed, but there were offshoots that have sprung up which have done nothing but keep increasing in number. I just read somewhere else that banana plants are actually giant herbs, and that the offshoots should be removed to ensure fruit production. Would have been nice to have better care instructions sent with the delivery of the plant.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2008-08-30 00:00:00
Great plant
Posted By: reviewer
Location: Milwaukee, WI United States
Comments:
What a great, fun plant. In 3 months it has grown over 2 feet. There's a baby growing on the side. It's beautiful and healthy.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2008-03-10 00:00:00
Banana plant
Posted By: Alice /zamora
Location: Saint Paul, Mn United States
Comments:
Ordered banana plant 3 years ago, has grown to over 7 feet, has 3 babies and is wonderful. Still waiting for fruit but enjoying plant as is. Leave out all summer, bring in in late September and put out again in May. Love it.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2008-01-31 00:00:00
Dwarf Banana
Posted By: Cindy
Location: Bridport, Vermont United States
Comments:
I received a dwarf banana and had to get it replaced due to shipping inadequacy. It has grown by leaps and bounds. It is over a year old, no blossoms yet, but it grew like very fast. There is yellowing of the leaves, not certain the remedy to green them up. It is about 3 feet tall as I potted it in a big pot with plenty of room and it lived out on my deck in the summer. It came inside when outside temps were down into the 40s and 30s. If it's dwarf, I'm glad I chose dwarf over a full sized one!

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2007-10-20 00:00:00
Awesome plant!
Posted By: Karen
Location: Ames, IA United States
Comments:
"I don't really like bananas, but the plant looked so cool that I decided to buy it. It was small when I got it in May, now in October, it is over 18 inches tall and I have repotted it thrice from the pot it came in, and it is about ready for the next size up that is sitting in my living room. It is such a cool plant, I love it! Note: When it produces bananas, the main stalk will die, it is best to let two of the ""baby"" plants stay with the main plant so that they can take over, separating the rest is good so the plant has more energy to make bananas. Mine has one baby, it is so cute! "

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2007-09-24 00:00:00
DWARF????
Posted By: Becky
Location: Reserve, New Mexico United States
Comments:
"My Dwarf Banana never did look like a dwarf and now 3 years later, it is 7 feet tall. It is time to bring inside and I have nowhere to put it!!! No sign of bananas yet - Huge beautiful plant if you have an atrium."

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2007-08-16 00:00:00
beautiful!
Posted By: Laura
Location: Chicago, IL United States
Comments:
I bought this banana tree two years ago and never had a ton of hope for it. Now it is well over 5ft tall! I used a large 'self-watering' container as I am known plant-neglector. I would like to note that the leaves spread out more than I expected, so make sure you have room. I can't wait for it to bloom and start producing. We had a tornado in the area last week and the one thing I brought inside was this plant.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2007-07-16 00:00:00
Bananas!!!
Posted By: erik
Location: Elizabeth, New Jersey United States
Comments:
"I got a 1"" plant in the mail not expecting much. Three months later, it is almost 1' tall and I hope I have bananas soon. It was a lot easier to grow than any other dwarf tree because of the plant light I got for it."

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2007-01-28 00:00:00
Pleasantly Surprized
Posted By: Kathy
Location: Massapequa, New York United States
Comments:
I recieved this small plant to my door. Honestly not expecting much. It grew outside my home to 2Ft by summers end. It now decorates my dinning room for winter. If I recieve fruit in the years to come that will be a bonus. I just love it.

Premium SSL Certificate