Send my FREE Garden
Catalog & Coupon Today!

Receive a FREE copy of the Gurney's Seed & Nursery catalog PLUS a coupon for $25 OFF by simply filling out the information below. And don't forget to fill one out for each of your gardening friends.

* First Name
* Last Name
* Address 1
Address 2
* City
* State
* Zip Code
* Email
* Required Email Enter your email address here to receive your
    $25 OFF Instant Coupon!

Get the latest deals from Gurney's Seed & Nursery!

Preview exciting new products, learn about special sale events and lots more.
Sign up to start receiving Gurney's Seed & Nursery e-mail updates.

View Product Reviews


13853 - Ozark Beauty Strawberry


< Return to product
 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2014-06-11 17:21:24
I love these plants!
Posted By: Lauri
Location: Pryor, MT United States
Comments:
I ordered 25 plants this year, I read some of the comments about them and decided these fit my needs the most. They are allready blooming! I am so excited to see the fruit! I will buy more next year!

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2014-05-29 18:45:42
Great production!
Posted By: Megan D.
Location: Terre Haute, IN United States
Comments:
Very sweet berry, will definitely put more out when they are available again!

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2014-05-21 08:01:08
Pleasantly surprised
Posted By: Stephanie Beck
Location: Eupora, MS United States
Comments:
My husband ordered these for me. I've never had experience with dry root plants and wasn't sure what to expect. I received a bundle of plants with well established roots and no leaves. I still had my doubts. We followed the planting instructions exactly and just 3 days later we have life! They all have brand new green leaves! So excited!

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2014-02-11 17:55:17
everbearing a day neutral variety
Posted By: Keith H. Bjelland
Location: BATTLE GROUND, WA United States
Comments:
June-beareing or Short Day: Length-of-day sensitive, these varieties produce buds in the autumn, flowers and fruits the following spring, and runners during the long days of summer. Day-Neutral: Insensitive to day length, these varieties produce buds, fruits and runners continuously if temperature remains between 35 and 85. Production is less than that of June-bearers. Everbearing: These varieties form buds during the long days of summer and the short days of autumn. The summer-formed buds flower and fruit in autumn, and the autumn-formed buds fruit the following spring. Everbearing are commonly classified with Day-Neutral varieties.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2014-02-11 17:32:42
the swweetest,and Best
Posted By: Keith H. Bjelland
Location: Battle ground, WA United States
Comments:
a very old stand up variety that is super sweet with very large ,medium,and small berry's that has the finest old fashioned flavor , my grandfather always said they were the best and that is all I will grow now, I have tried other brands but I always keep going back to them and they are heavy producers of fine flavored berry's. some berry's might be the largest but they do not have the fine taste that the Ozark beauty's are known to have.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2013-08-15 08:03:07
Excellent choice
Posted By: Stephanie
Location: Renner, SD United States
Comments:
We have never grown strawberries before this year, but decided or order these. The plants have done exceedingly well in yet another dry year in South Dakota. These plants have lots of runners as noted in other reviews, but after only one season, our strawberry bed is filling out and the plants are getting big. We have even gotten a few strawberries this year (though we popped off most of the flowers this year). The flavor was excellent, definitely recommend!

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2013-02-13 00:00:00
Too many runners
Posted By: Pamela
Location: Monticello, FL United States
Comments:
I planted these berries this past summer in raised garden beds. I clipped all the blooms as per the instructions. My plants (the ones I have left) now have blooms (Feb), and I am anxiously awaiting the berries. BUT heed the warnings of the other reviewers. The runners these plants produce require a full time gardener. I ended up pulling all but a few of the plants out, because when I went on vacation for a week the runners took over. I had one massive strawberry bed.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2012-03-24 00:00:00
Awesome
Posted By: David
Location: Montevideo, MN United States
Comments:
These are some amazing little strawberries. We ate berries the first year and they have a fantastic taste. They also spread like wild fire. Highly recommend

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2011-04-14 00:00:00
Amazing Plants
Posted By: Jon
Location: Silverhill, AL United States
Comments:
I bought these plants about 2 weeks ago and had to wait a full week before planting (bed wasnt ready). I planted the bareroots and was very concerned that i would lose a large portion of the plants, but as it turns out, there are only about 4 or 5 that have yet to show strong growth. All the others are showing amazing growth and i am hopeful that they will produce a fall crop. Thanks!

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2010-08-03 00:00:00
Not Happy
Posted By: Edward
Location: Syracuse, New York United States
Comments:
Received my 50 plants this past spring with the pyramid garden and planted as instructed. They grew well and I removed the early blossoms as instructed. Haven't seen another blossom yet. The plants are big, but they definitely aren't everbearing. June bearing at best and I'll have to wait until next year to confirm that. Also the runners are overwhelming. If I would have known I'd have to clip 1000 runners, I wouldn't have ordered them. Gurney's offered to replace the plants, but what do I want with more of these, so they gave me a coupon instead. Order them at your own risk.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2010-05-26 00:00:00
good for a marriage
Posted By: Aquilla
Location: springfield, MO United States
Comments:
my wonderful hubby walks the doge every day i planted the as a treat for him and it has work so well he go's out in the morning with the dogs and comes back in with handfuls of strawberries and a ear to ear grin on hie face! i would only plant the beast for my man and these are the beast!

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2010-05-25 00:00:00
Fantastic!
Posted By: Adam
Location: Frederick, Maryland United States
Comments:
I planted the order of 25 in a Topsy Turvey and a raised container bed. Used 100% organic compost with coir. Bat guano and earthworm castings for feed with foliar vitamins sprayed. These plants loved it! Each plant has big clusters of flowers and several berries developing. Planted mid-April. Hardy plants!

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2010-05-17 00:00:00
Amazing strawberries
Posted By: Doris
Location: Pieville, WV United States
Comments:
I ordered these plants last year, they didn't even wilt when I planted them. Had strawberries all year and this year the plants have tripled, and they are loaded with strawberries as early in the year as it is, have already put some in the freezer. Best buy I have ever made.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2010-05-15 00:00:00
very good
Posted By: Craig
Location: Tooele, Utah United States
Comments:
I recived I ordered 2 packages of 25 I received 52 plugs. I planted about two weeks ago and now I have 50 little strawberry plants with between 4-6 healthy looking leaves each. I am very pleased only two plants out of the 52 died and these two were extra.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2010-05-14 00:00:00
All Diseased
Posted By: Chris C
Location: Cumming, GA United States
Comments:
Plants looked good for a while but now all have developed severe leaf scorch. I have applied two fungicide treatments but the diseases is progressing. Hopefully they will recover but I am not pleased.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2010-05-08 00:00:00
good roots
Posted By: Beensie
Location: New Haven, CT United States
Comments:
soaked for half an hour, planted and coming up very quickly. Very pleased so far.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2010-04-24 00:00:00
Topsy-turvey and Rock Gardens
Posted By: Amy
Location: Spokane, WA United States
Comments:
These plants are amazing! They arrived in good shape. All had small green leaves and well established roots. I planted them in 2 topsy-turvey planters, 2 plants in each hole. The very next day after I got home from work, I couldnt believe it! The stems grew about 1 1/2 inches and the leaves just opened up beautifully. I did use miracle grow dirt because I think good dirt makes all the difference in how your plants will thrive. I bought 100 strawberry plants, so the rest of them will go in my rock garden. Will see how they do there!

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2010-04-21 00:00:00
Update of previous review
Posted By: Sherrill
Location: Goldendale, WA United States
Comments:
The strawberries now all have several new leaves and are looking much better than when they arrived.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2010-04-16 00:00:00
Lovely Ozark Beauty crowns
Posted By: Janet
Location: Albany, NY United States
Comments:
Ordered 2 sets of 25 plants, received 23 in each set which arrived looking fine, nice roots. Soaked them overnight, planted in hanging Topsy Turvy type containers to keep them from woodchucks. 2 days later they started leafing out and are lovely, raring to go! Much better rootstock than the locally purchased expensive plants I've tried 2 years in a row which barely grew. Better stock, hanging planters- hoping for great berries this year.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2010-04-11 00:00:00
Pots!
Posted By: Gabe Friedman
Location: Peninsula, Ohio United States
Comments:
Received 24 plants instead of 25- no biggie. All of them are separated into plantable pots and thriving much better then expected. Will post more when they go into the ground.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2010-03-25 00:00:00
soak 'em first!
Posted By: michelle
Location: ft myers, fl United States
Comments:
I agree, preparation is key!! I soaked mine overnite, planted, and thought they died. But... within a week they started to put out new leaves. Then they grew like weeds. They threw out so many runners, I didn't know what to do with all those new plants. So... dont buy too many, and give 'em a good soaking before planting. I followed the planting instructions exactly. Great plants... Unfortunately, my dogs got in the garden and tore them ALL up :( I am buying more for sure!!!

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2010-03-25 00:00:00
Hoping for a good crop
Posted By: SB
Location: Goldendale, WA United States
Comments:
"I received the crowns yesterday, soaked them in water and planted them this morning. Out of the 25, only a few looked like they were hardy and would produce, the others were quite scrawny looking. Hopefully the old saying, ""Looks are deceiving"" is true in this case as well. "

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2009-05-06 00:00:00
Best everberring out there
Posted By: Jim
Location: Wayland, Iowa United States
Comments:
I have had good luck with these berries for years. I had to cover them with clear plastic one or two nights a few days after initially planting them. Since then they have continued to produce ample berries for 3 years. I throw in some 10-10-10 fertilizer in the patch each spring after I uncover them but other than that I just keep the dandelions out and enjoy them until the first frost of the fall. I have tried two other everberring varieties and these are by far the best everberring strawberry variety.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2009-03-16 00:00:00
wonderful!
Posted By: Nicole
Location: Portland, TN United States
Comments:
This is my first year ordering from a catalog. The bundles looked so fresh and healthy! I had no doubt they would grow. I can't wait until Spring goes into full swing!

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2008-05-12 00:00:00
So far so good
Posted By: Brenda
Location: Azle, TX United States
Comments:
Well, I was a little confused when I received my order because I was certain that the add read, buy 25 and get 25 free, but when I got my order, there was 25, going back online, since they were out of stock, there was no information on them in details..two of the bareroots I received I was pretty certain wouldn't make it..and they didn't...the berries have been in the ground over 2 1/2 weeks, and actually I have them in raised beds with an excellent soil/compost/mulch mixed that I had delivered...they are starting to get blossoms on them which I am removing to help the berries establish a strong root system...the 23 are still alive so that is good news...I think they will do nicely once they get themselves established...will mulch will well with straw to retain the moisture in my hot texas town..these ozarks are a good deal...

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2008-04-25 00:00:00
GREAT!!!
Posted By: Natalie
Location: Nashville, Tennessee United States
Comments:
I received my berries Friday and planted them Sunday. Monday morning I could already see slight growth. Great plants and I will be back for others. Thanks Gurney's.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2008-04-13 00:00:00
Ozark Strawberries
Posted By: Greg York
Location: Lookout Mountain, Georgia United States
Comments:
Wonderful experience! Got plants, planted them the next day and boom, they take off. I've had them for two weeks and already has blooms. Thanks Gurneys.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2008-03-18 00:00:00
Very good plants!
Posted By: Samuel White
Location: Thomasville, NC United States
Comments:
I ordered 50 strawberry plant and i g0t 55 and all are growing ,very nice plants thanks.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2007-05-14 00:00:00
Awesome berries!
Posted By: Nancy DeCoursey
Location: Hopkinsville, Kentucky United States
Comments:
How pleased our family has been with our Ozark Beauty Everbearing Strawberries. We ordered the pyramid, plants and netting in spring of '06. The plants are presently loaded with sweet, delicious strawberries! Thank you Gurneys for yet another productive crop from your company.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2007-05-01 00:00:00
amazing
Posted By: d.n
Location: brooklyn, new york United States
Comments:
When I got my plants for the first time I was shocked to see bare roots. But just after one week, these berries grew 4 inches tall. I just couldn't believe how fast these berries grew. Only 2 plants died unfortunately. I recommend putting a small fence for the first week so the squirell won't eat the plants. That's how my 2 plants died. Good luck

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2007-04-09 00:00:00
Ozark surviver
Posted By: Chuck N
Location: Northwest, WI United States
Comments:
I am amazed at this berry! Planted last year, enduring drought, some sort of black bug the size of a pin head, no snow cover, and an onslought of wild rabbits that dug through mulch and chewed the crowns past ground level and still are coming back? So far about half and temps aren't warm yet. Incredible.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2007-03-20 00:00:00
ozark-strawberrys
Posted By: vanessa lee
Location: idalou, texas United States
Comments:
I got 50 strawberry plants and the strawberry bed. Out of the 50 plants I received only 4 lived. Actually the same thing happened with the 2 blueberry plants I ordered but neither one of those lived.

Premium SSL Certificate