Send my FREE Garden
Catalog & Coupon Today!

Receive a FREE copy of the Gurney's Seed & Nursery catalog PLUS a coupon for $25 OFF by simply filling out the information below. And don't forget to fill one out for each of your gardening friends.

* First Name
* Last Name
* Address 1
Address 2
* City
* State
* Zip Code
* Email
* Required Email Enter your email address here to receive your
    $25 OFF Instant Coupon!

Get the latest deals from Gurney's Seed & Nursery!

Preview exciting new products, learn about special sale events and lots more.
Sign up to start receiving Gurney's Seed & Nursery e-mail updates.

View Product Reviews


-


< Return to product
 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2014-04-19 21:37:06
Frost kill of buds
Posted By: Susan
Location: Eagle Bend, MN United States
Comments:
In zone 3 I have read to protect the buds during the freeze thaw cycle in the spring in the more northern climates. Otherwise just appreciate them as a pretty red bush in the fall. I just planted mine today so I do not know how this experiment will go yet.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2014-03-05 17:08:13
Just arrived
Posted By: Brenda
Location: Rutherfordton, NC United States
Comments:
I just received my 2 Manchurian Apricot trees and they are as stated and very fresh. I live in Western NC zone 7, every tree I've planted has produced here as long as it has good drainage. I hope I have better luck than some of you.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2012-05-20 00:00:00
Bigger Than Advertised
Posted By: Jimmy
Location: Columbia, SC United States
Comments:
These trees grew much higher than the advertised height. They never produced any fruit. The trees also attracted large numbers of Japanese beetles each year and they were too tall to spray easily. I finally cut them down.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2012-01-22 00:00:00
Size Misrepresented
Posted By: Mrs. S.
Location: Neenah, WI United States
Comments:
When I originally purchased two plants, they were advertised as bushes that would reach a maximum height and spread of four feet. One of the plants died. The other grew, and grew. I had to cut it down because it grew too large for the space allotted. I am glad to see that the plant description has been corrected, but that does not solve the annoyance of lost time and investment in a plant that failed to meet the promised expectations.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2010-04-18 00:00:00
care free
Posted By: toni
Location: cooleemee, north carolina United States
Comments:
Shipped and planted in 2007. Now in 2010 they are over 8 feet tall and covered in fruit. Looking forward to tasting them in a few weeks. Care free, planted them and left them alone, no extra care was given to them at all. Great choice for anyone with little time to be fussing with plants.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2010-01-17 00:00:00
Not for Zone 8-9
Posted By: Tim A.
Location: Wilmington, NC United States
Comments:
Despite what the product detail section states, Manchurian Bush Apricots will NOT do well in zone 8 and 9 climates. They do not appreciate long periods of hot, humid weather like found in the coastal Southeast, and they require more winter chilling hours than a warm climate can usually provide. After four years, my two Manchurian Bush Apricots have struggled to grow at all given these conditions.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2009-07-14 00:00:00
Fruit
Posted By: Cindy
Location: Menominee, MI United States
Comments:
I purchased a home in 2004. There were small Manchurian Apricot shrubs there. They are now about 8-10 feet high. I always loved the blossoms and never seen any fruit. I went and looked at them last night for the first time this year and they are LOADED with fruit! I have 10 of them and will have apricots coming out of my ears this year. This is the first year they have had fruit.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2009-02-26 00:00:00
Same Complaint
Posted By: John
Location: Galena, MD United States
Comments:
I forget if this is the 4th or 5th year. I have 12 ft trees with ample sunshine and no blossoms or fruit. Don't waste your time.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2008-01-06 00:00:00
Big Disappointment
Posted By: Cindy
Location: Southern, California United States
Comments:
Bought a Manchurian Apricot Bush 4 years ago and still no fruit. The bush is wonderful and gives a beautiful shade for my dogs area but that's all. Am going to try and graft another type of apricot onto the bush and see what happens.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2007-07-17 00:00:00
I am upset
Posted By: Dvin
Location: Phila., PA United States
Comments:
About eight years ago I got three Manchurian Apricot Bushes from Gurney's. Full sun and 'Mirical Grow' made those bushes became a big trees about 10 feet tall. Two of them have a lot of flowers for third year. But no fruit at all. I asked help from Gurneys,s, no way. Those bushes have the best spot on my backyard and...

Premium SSL Certificate