Send my FREE Garden
Catalog & Coupon Today!

Receive a FREE copy of the Gurney's Seed & Nursery catalog PLUS a coupon for $25 OFF by simply filling out the information below. And don't forget to fill one out for each of your gardening friends.

* First Name
* Last Name
* Address 1
Address 2
* City
* State
* Zip Code
* Email
* Required Email Enter your email address here to receive your
    $25 OFF Instant Coupon!

Get the latest deals from Gurney's Seed & Nursery!

Preview exciting new products, learn about special sale events and lots more.
Sign up to start receiving Gurney's Seed & Nursery e-mail updates.

View Product Reviews


-


< Return to product
 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2014-07-25 18:00:35
planting beauregard sweet potato
Posted By: terri
Location: lawrenceburg, KY United States
Comments:
Make sure your tiller has deep tines or do several passes after moving tilled soil to the side. My fruit twisted like taffy due to compacted soil. I got one large fruit and many smaller @ 90 days, vines still green. Fruit started to root in soil. Do not walk between rows as it causes compaction. Add mulch (did not do). 6 plants produced a bushel of ready and immature.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2013-12-03 14:57:55
Great in a barrel
Posted By: Napoleon Wiggins
Location: Crestview, FL United States
Comments:
I planted my crop in half plastic barrels, the crop was great some over a foot long and tasted great. will be planting again in the spring.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2012-03-11 00:00:00
great crop
Posted By: Wendy
Location: Burlington, VT United States
Comments:
I ordered these in 2011. Planted 12 plants in a raised garden bed. I had over 60 potatoes from my harvest in mid October. Love them and they are still currently fresh and good.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2012-02-08 00:00:00
seem to need lots of sun
Posted By: Linda
Location: "Monrovia,", Maryland United States
Comments:
Last year was the first year I planted these and the ones who received the most sunlight were incredible. Some I planted with a smaller amount didn't do well at all. I learned my lesson.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2010-09-05 00:00:00
Unbelievable Sweets
Posted By: Pat & Jim
Location: Montpelier, Va United States
Comments:
My husband and I planted sweet potatoes for the first time this year and just finished digging them......it is almost unbelievable to see the size of these potatoes, most 5, 6 or 7 pounds in size. Can't wait to try them in a few weeks.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2010-07-15 00:00:00
beaureard sweet potato
Posted By: shawn
Location: new kent, va United States
Comments:
This is my second yr growing these and they look as good as the ones i grew last yr. I just hope to keep the deer away lol will buy again

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2009-10-07 00:00:00
Better than expected
Posted By: Tony
Location: Bismarck, ND United States
Comments:
They didn't look good upon arrival, but like the directions said there hardy and persistent. My only concern is they arrived later than I'd liked. Even though we had a cool year, I still ended up with some beauties and I only planted 4 of them. Next year the sweet potato plot will be expanded.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2009-09-30 00:00:00
What a Yeild
Posted By: Pastor Mac
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio United States
Comments:
We grew these this year for the first time. Planted just after Mother's day, Harvested 9/29/09 over 100 lbs from 12-plants. We love Beauregards!

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2009-04-06 00:00:00
Poor crop
Posted By: Julie
Location: Glenwood, MN United States
Comments:
Plants did not grow as described, very small and not many sweet potatoes. I mulched heavily, but did not use the black plastic method. I will try them again and use the black plastic method to plant.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2009-03-04 00:00:00
Very sweet!
Posted By: LCB
Location: Port Orchard, WA United States
Comments:
Even with a very bad year we still managed to get very sweet and tasty Beauregards. We had very little sunshine last year and the slugs were horrible! Yet our sweet potatoes did very well. The leave look like ivy and add beauty to our garden!

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2008-10-06 00:00:00
Fantastic!
Posted By: Kathy
Location: Lakeville, Minnesota United States
Comments:
I just wanted to express how happy I am with this sweet potato. We followed the planting directions and made a large mound with the black plastic cover. These Sweet potatoes are huge and have fine flesh! The are very tasty too! Thanks for such a spectacular product!

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2007-09-23 00:00:00
Very impressive
Posted By: The Banisters
Location: Courtland, Va United States
Comments:
We wanted to try sweet potatoes since our white potatoes only did 'ok'. Our results with the Beauregard Sweet Potatoes were unbelievable!! We could easily make a pie with ONE potato!!! They were huge. The flesh is creamy and sweet and even the kids love them and they don't eat sweet potatoes. Will certainly purchase them again this year! :-) Thanks for the recommendation Gurney's!

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2007-05-17 00:00:00
Best Sweet Potatoes
Posted By: Kathy Reid
Location: Nisland, SD United States
Comments:
These are the sweetest and most beautiful sweet potatoes around. They store well too.

Premium SSL Certificate