Send my FREE Garden
Catalog & Coupon Today!

Receive a FREE copy of the Gurney's Seed & Nursery catalog PLUS a coupon for $25 OFF by simply filling out the information below. And don't forget to fill one out for each of your gardening friends.

* First Name
* Last Name
* Address 1
Address 2
* City
* State
* Zip Code
* Email
* Required Email Enter your email address here to receive your
    $25 OFF Instant Coupon!

Get the latest deals from Gurney's Seed & Nursery!

Preview exciting new products, learn about special sale events and lots more.
Sign up to start receiving Gurney's Seed & Nursery e-mail updates.

View Product Reviews


08486 - Dwarf Tophat Blueberry


< Return to product
 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2014-06-24 01:07:40
CUTE!!
Posted By: melinda
Location: Loveland, CO United States
Comments:
This blueberry plant arrived just the other day and it is adorable! My sister came over yesterday and immediately noticed the plant. She loved it! The leaves are adorable. I'm going to put in a wine barrel next week. It's already growing new leaves. Thank you!

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2012-04-10 00:00:00
brown leafs
Posted By: kendell
Location: elkhorn, nebraska United States
Comments:
Recieved 3 plants. All 3 plants had brown leaves when they arrived. I am not sure what caused this. To much time in shipping? Or did they get to cold? Will not order again!

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2011-02-18 00:00:00
even a novice can grow these
Posted By: richard
Location: clinton, missouri United States
Comments:
I ordered 2 of these last year, and planted them in three gallon pots. They have grown quite large already. I hope they produce berries this year. It look like they have done fine so far this winter.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2010-04-22 00:00:00
TopHat Beauties
Posted By: Richard Macbeth
Location: Abingdon, Va United States
Comments:
I bought 10 of these to go with 3 other varieties all of which I grow in half wine barrels. I planted them 1 1/2 years ago and did not let them berry out till this year. I got tons of bells know and they are doing wonderful. I am looking forward in eating them the end of this summer. Did not have any problems with any of the top hat plants. I had also two northberry that had to be replaced and Gurney's sent out replacements with no problems. I also use the Gurney's blueberry food both spring and fall. and pine straw them in the winter.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2009-09-02 00:00:00
Dwarf Tophat Blueberry
Posted By: Jill
Location: Keizer, OR United States
Comments:
I bought this plant about 5 years ago. It has survived every type of weather predicament still produces a bounty in the summer. The berries are large, sweet & plentiful. Great patio plant!

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2009-07-14 00:00:00
Outstanding
Posted By: Gerry
Location: Wantagh, New York United States
Comments:
I bought two plants three years ago.I left them out all year long .As soon as they start to bud,I added coffee grinds to make the soil acidic, I now have a ton of blueberries every year!

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2009-06-17 00:00:00
Tophat/Northblue
Posted By: Ruth
Location: Overland Park, KS United States
Comments:
I purchased two Tophat and two Northblue bushes in the spring of '07. They didn't do much of anything the first year. I took a chance and wintered them over in the garage the 1st winter. The 2nd summer they grew a lot but did not bloom. I wintered them in the garage again. This past spring they all produced a ton of blooms. I took them all off. I'm now hoping they will do ok this winter as I'm looking forward to lots of blueberries next summer!

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2009-06-02 00:00:00
Blueberries need acid
Posted By: Jack Underwood
Location: Schenectady, NY United States
Comments:
My first blueberry arrived and never grew. Gurney replaced it immediately! and this one has done well, especially with the addition of sulphur to acidify the soil.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2009-05-12 00:00:00
there great
Posted By: JLW
Location: Cincinnati, OH United States
Comments:
I ordered two tophat dwarf blueberry and one dwarf northblue blueberry they arrived in great shape. I planted in pots and they are doing great. Can't wait for fruit.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2009-03-26 00:00:00
A few green leaves..then nothing
Posted By: Patti
Location: Crescent City, CA United States
Comments:
I ordered three of these plants and followed the directions exactly. Two plants died. The third plant produced green leaves for a couple of months, but no new growth, then died.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2009-01-31 00:00:00
Tophat
Posted By: JIm
Location: Washington, Iowa United States
Comments:
This plant came in as a very small looking shrub. It grew very little the first three months, then exploded to four times its size in the last few weeks before frost. I mixed 50/50 (by volume) peat moss and potting soil for shrubs. I have placed it on my back porch for the winter and occasionally place some snow on the soil to keep it moist. I can't wait to take it back out this spring.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2008-08-22 00:00:00
very pleased
Posted By: Stacie
Location: Midland, MI United States
Comments:
Slow growth the first year, but it really took off the second year and produced berries. I was so pleased with the growth and form that I ordered two more plants. Very nice container blueberry variety! Very cute, nice shape, and productive for its small size. I grow mine in wooden barrels and they do very well.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2008-07-03 00:00:00
As expected
Posted By: Ryan
Location: Hampton Roads, VA United States
Comments:
I ordered this plant from Gurney's and another company at the same time. The one I received from Gurney's was by far the better plant. Was double in size than the other plant received. Repotted and used blueberry fertilizer and the plant has grown slowly but as expected. I expect that in the next few years I will have a nice sized plant that is producing blueberries. I am not dissapointed at all.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2008-06-22 00:00:00
cute- 2 years
Posted By: shar
Location: Ashburn, VA United States
Comments:
Lived in a pot outside for 2 winters and survived very well. It has more berries this 3rd summer that are light blue, sweet and a good size. Just getting a small handful of berries. It is really cute in a pot on the table outside. I have the dwarf northblue that is larger, but the berries are pretty bitter.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2008-05-16 00:00:00
So far so good
Posted By: Tiea
Location: Madison, Al United States
Comments:
I got mine a couple months ago and it arrived healthy. I planted it in miracle grow potting mix and kept it inside till it got warm outside. It did go through a phase of shock where the leaves dried up and the tips of the stems turned black. But now it's come back and putting out big dark green leaves and looks like it will be doing ok. Haven't seen flowers yet and don't expect to see fruit this year.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2008-05-07 00:00:00
Whew!
Posted By: Margo
Location: Cleveland, OH United States
Comments:
These little plants arrived safely and looked good (I knew they would be tiny, so I was not disappointed by their size). I carefully prepared a soil mixture of potting mix, pine needles and peat moss, with some Holly-Tone and osmocote. Within a few days they started to turn red, a condition which lasted about two weeks. I've set them outside in the middle of my backyard where they get a lot of sun, and they are starting to return to a lush green with evidence of new growth emerging. I attribute the change in color due to shock from transporting and transplanting. A soil test indicated I'm a little high in pH, so with some further amending, I am confident that these little guys will be just fine and fruitful.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2008-04-10 00:00:00
Good Start!
Posted By: CMR
Location: Kent, Ohio United States
Comments:
Received this, along with a dwarf Northblue, a week ago. It arrived healthy and intact, and when I took it out of the box, the little pot it was shipped in left a wet spot on my carpet, so it definitely wasn't dried out. It's growing quite happily so far--many new leaves. Can't wait to put it outside once warm weather arrives.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2007-10-14 00:00:00
Hardy Plants and Fun to Grow
Posted By: Mountain Master Wapas
Location: Yosemite, California United States
Comments:
These plants are small when they arrive. I have over 30 of them now. They grow fast and are very attractive. Strip flowers off for the first 2 years and they will be much better plants in the long run. You must maintain soil pH between 4.5 and 5.5 to have a healthy plant. Use the fertilizer Gurneys sells, or use holly tone and iron sulfate and sulfur if you still have high pH. I am getting 30 more to cover my entire deck with beautiful healthy blueberries.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2007-08-23 00:00:00
Fast Grower
Posted By: Paul Kuipers
Location: Schererville, Indiana United States
Comments:
I ordered this plant in the spring of 2007 and planted it in a large pot and fertilized it with the recommended fertilizer from Gurney's. It is now August and the plant looks amazing, it is huge compared to when I received it, and a healthy green. I am very pleased.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2007-08-13 00:00:00
sweetest blueberries
Posted By: mattymommy
Location: san mateo, ca United States
Comments:
I bought 2 of these plants 2 years ago. My plants really took off this year and are quite prolific (about 1/2 cup per plant per week since June)and the blueberries are so sweet!

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2007-06-11 00:00:00
Dwarf tophat
Posted By: katherine
Location: wilmore, kentucky United States
Comments:
My husband ordered 6 of these for me in a package. They were very tiny when they came. Two of them had broken off from the roots. I called and they were replaced right away. I planted them all in pots. Two have died but all of the ones that are living have lots of leaves. I purched some of these last year and they both have berries on them right now.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2007-05-31 00:00:00
BlueBerry TopHat DWF
Posted By: DingBat
Location: Cincinnati, OH United States
Comments:
Ordered 1 plant. Planted in a ceramic pot and stuck in my back yard it gets shade the first half of the day and full sun the rest. I simply watered it every night and it is growing like crazy. Even used cheap top soil, just put some mulch on top to keep the mositure in, it is doing great, it has doubled in size in 3 weeks.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2007-05-24 00:00:00
Pleasantly surprised
Posted By: William Girard
Location: Gordon, Wisconsin United States
Comments:
Recieved my plants April 24th, they were tiny...I planted them about 3 days later, as no instructions were included I potted them in a mixture of peat moss and sand treated with a small amount of soil sulphur. The plants have tripled in size in 30 days. I guess it does help to have experience with growing Blueberryies.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2007-05-02 00:00:00
Pleased so far
Posted By: Desiree
Location: Frisco, Texas United States
Comments:
Recieved the plants a few weeks ago. Yes they are tiny twigs, but I planted them just as in the instructions said. They now have several leaves and are doing great.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2007-04-28 00:00:00
Pleasantly surprised
Posted By: Jill
Location: Goldsboro, NC United States
Comments:
I just want to say that I am pleasantly surprised. When I first received my plant, I was kind of disappointed with the appearance of it. It had about 6 little twigs with about 10 small leaves, but I was optimistic. After about four months of no results I purchased the blueberry fertilizer and immediately saw hope in this frail little bush. The twigs are now full of beautiful green leaves and believe it or not, blooms that are turning into blueberries. I've only had it for six months. I didn't expect this until after a year or two. I am happy about my purchase thusfar.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2007-04-03 00:00:00
Blue Berries in COLORADO!
Posted By: Shannon Davis
Location: Denver, Colorado United States
Comments:
Thisis the best thing I have ever done. It does take 2 to 3 years to attain blueberries. But, once they start they just don't stop! Colorado is a terrible place to grow blueberries, but my top hat took off!! I got it in the spring, right into a pot. I must admit I do bring it in, in the winter. Then spring I take it out and put it back in its spot. It s beautiful and the blueberries are FANTASTIC!

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2007-03-23 00:00:00
They all died!
Posted By: Tom
Location: Hudson, Wisconsin United States
Comments:
The first plant died almost immediately. Gurney's sent me a new at no charge and it died as well! Will try another type.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2007-02-16 00:00:00
Wishing and hoping...
Posted By: Pat
Location: Phoenix, AZ United States
Comments:
I ordered 2 tophat blueberry bushes for my patio and when they arrived they were dead looking but I planted them and watered them anyway. They stayed dead. I will try once more - - by planting them in an upside down container and putting a frozen water bottle on the top (root side) every other morning and see what happens.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2007-01-29 00:00:00
Wow-what a yield!
Posted By: Don
Location: W. Bloomfield, MI United States
Comments:
First two years, It didn't produce much, but the third year, there were so many berries that the bush sagged. Great little plant.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2007-01-09 00:00:00
A Hard Start
Posted By: Kim
Location: Detroit, Michigan United States
Comments:
My first plant died within a couple of weeks. The next year, Gurney's gladly replaced it at no charge. However, this plant didn't fare much better. It died within a month also even though I followed the enclosed instructions! I love blueberries, but will try a different plant next time.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2007-01-09 00:00:00
Growing Great!
Posted By: Kathy
Location: Los Alamos, New Mexico United States
Comments:
Never thought I could grow blueberries in my alkaline soil. Well, I mixed peat with garden soil in a huge pot, and my Tophat Blueberry doubled in size the first year. Hoping for fruit this growing season! A must for blueberry lovers with alkaline soils, since it's small enough to grow in a container.

Premium SSL Certificate