Send my FREE Garden
Catalog & Coupon Today!

Receive a FREE copy of the Gurney's Seed & Nursery catalog PLUS a coupon for $25 OFF by simply filling out the information below. And don't forget to fill one out for each of your gardening friends.

* First Name
* Last Name
* Address 1
Address 2
* City
* State
* Zip Code
* Email
* Required Email Enter your email address here to receive your
    $25 OFF Instant Coupon!

Get the latest deals from Gurney's Seed & Nursery!

Preview exciting new products, learn about special sale events and lots more.
Sign up to start receiving Gurney's Seed & Nursery e-mail updates.

View Product Reviews


80914 - Tomato Cage


< Return to product
 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2014-05-15 18:45:16
Very sturdy and well constructed
Posted By: valerie
Location: lafayette hill, PA United States
Comments:
I have purchased many tomato cages over the years, and was never really satisified because they did not hold up the tomato plants very well as they grew. Your cages are made of a heavier gauge metal and stay put even in strong wind. I bought them on sale, and I am very pleased with them. Even taking them down for storage at the end of the season is very easy compared to others. The round ones do not fold flat, and the triangle and square ones I purchased locally, have broken very easily with my heavy plants. These are solid, and well built. I am confident they will last many years, and my plants will be much happier as well.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2014-04-20 02:39:12
Great cages
Posted By: Shirley Hwang
Location: San Jose, CA United States
Comments:
These cages are lightweight, yet very study. They are foldable for easy storage. very happy with them and I plan to buy more.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2014-04-05 17:07:19
Worth Every Penny
Posted By: Laura Raab
Location: Rancho Palos Verdes, CA United States
Comments:
I bought one pair to see what they were like, then ordered 4 more sets after seeing the first one. These are the sturdiest looking ready-made cages I have ever seen. I am recommending them to all my tomato growing friends.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2014-01-27 00:43:36
Best Deal Ever
Posted By: Melinda Throckmorton
Location: spring, TX United States
Comments:
I love these cages. They are the best price I have found. The thickest wire I have seen. I had to stack one cage on the other, and they held together perfectly. The cages folded up and took up such a small space. There was no rust and they were in perfect shape after a long hot Texas summer.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2013-09-27 10:15:23
Best Cages EVER!
Posted By: Kelly
Location: East Peoria, IL United States
Comments:
I've tried several different tomato cages - mainly the three-prong or four-prong round cages. My tomato plants get very large in central Illinois, and I would have to reenforce the cages which was a pain. So, I decided to try the square, 4-post cages. Wow, they stood up perfectly! They are very sturdy and held up my very heavy plants. I plan to purchase four more of these cages to stack on my current cages.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2012-07-06 00:00:00
amazing
Posted By: Debbie Branstetter
Location: Claremore, Oklahoma United States
Comments:
I was not convinced these would hold up when I got them but I sure knew I needed something better than the round ones you get in the stores. I got my and was so excited to get my garden out. My tomatoes has grown to the top and set on like crazy when I went out of state one weekend. My kids to me we had a really windy storm the night before and 3 inches of rain. I knew when I crossed the river and seen all the trees floating that it had been a rough storm. First thing as soon as I walked in I went straight out to the garden and to my surprise not one of the 20 cages were down. I would have had to stake my cages with a t-post to keep them up any other time. I recommend these cages to anyone. They are pricey but I got mine when they were on sale and am buying 20 more today.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2012-01-27 00:00:00
Finest tomato supports!
Posted By: cindy
Location: Bridport, Vermont United States
Comments:
I bought some of these cages at an auction from an old-timer a few years back. They are great! Never found them until I saw them here at Gurneys and bought more. They are a bit pricey but very sturdy and durable! My tall Heriloom tomatoes in these cages survived Hurricane Irene here in Vermont when all around us things were flattened. I'm very impressed. I needed to add some rebar in order to tie the indeterminate Brandywine vines once they grew even higher than the cages, but that's not the norm. Raised bed, organic growing, they grew and grew. BUY THESE CAGES!

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2012-01-02 00:00:00
Best Cage for the Money
Posted By: Donalee
Location: Money Island, NJ United States
Comments:
I ordered 2 of these cages last year as well as 2 from another catalog for twice the cost. These cages held up as well as the more expensive ones and handled high winds and heavy plants with no problems! I am ordering more this year. Just wish you had smaller ones for pepper plants.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2011-11-26 00:00:00
Kudos to the desgner
Posted By: Rosalyn
Location: McKnightstown, PA United States
Comments:
This design is PERFECT! I always thought the funnel-shaped cages were designed too flimsy with their 3 legs which allowed my tomato plants to topple over and become ground runners anyway. This past season, I used 16 of these square tomato cages along with the tomato food. Even with our rainy summer my production more than doubled from last year! The tomatoes are easy to pick, have plenty of aeration to dry after rains and the cages stand up to gusty, sustained winds. The easy folding down for storage is a huge plus. I plan to buy 4 more for next season and use them for my cucumbers (as an experiment).

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2011-08-24 00:00:00
Sturdiest Tomato Cages Ever!
Posted By: Lisa
Location: Richmond, VA United States
Comments:
I got 2 of these tomato cages this spring--they are the sturdiest cages ever! I plan to get 2 more for next season.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2011-08-21 00:00:00
Best By Far
Posted By: Judi
Location: Pueblo, CO United States
Comments:
This is the only tomato cage I have ever used that stands up to the 40+ mph winds we experience periodically most years, and regularly this year. Very stable and sturdy, folds flat for storage, I love this tomato cage!

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2010-07-26 00:00:00
Best tomato cage ever!
Posted By: Paula
Location: Flintstone, GA United States
Comments:
These are wonderful cages - they stay in the ground and don't fall over when the tomato plants grow large and heavy. If they were less expensive this would be the only kind of tomato cage in my garden. Definitely recommend!

Premium SSL Certificate