Send my FREE Garden
Catalog & Coupon Today!

Receive a FREE copy of the Gurney's Seed & Nursery catalog PLUS a coupon for $25 OFF by simply filling out the information below. And don't forget to fill one out for each of your gardening friends.

* First Name
* Last Name
* Address 1
Address 2
* City
* State
* Zip Code
* Email
* Required Email Enter your email address here to receive your
    $25 OFF Instant Coupon!

Get the latest deals from Gurney's Seed & Nursery!

Preview exciting new products, learn about special sale events and lots more.
Sign up to start receiving Gurney's Seed & Nursery e-mail updates.

View Product Reviews


2925 - Jump Start Light System


< Return to product
 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2012-02-29 00:00:00
Too pricey for what it is
Posted By: Chip
Location: Sparks, NV United States
Comments:
It works, but the other reviews are correct: the light is too thin, so if you put a tray under it, the plants at the edges of the tray get long & spindly & bend in towards the light. I would have given it a 3 except for the price: the construction is not very sturdy. There is no way this thing is worth $80. Look elsewhere or build your own.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2010-06-11 00:00:00
Great Light
Posted By: J. Gault
Location: Charlotte, North Carolina United States
Comments:
I ordered this earlier this year to start some seedlings indoors. This is a great product. With a seed starting kit from another seed company and this light, I had seedlings coming up in about 2 days. The light stand was easy to put together, just one little mess up from my side. My only problem is that I wish the cord could have a mounting place on the stand. I say this because the cord pulls the light for where I have to plug it in and my seedlings weren't growing straight, I had to turn them 2x a day. Not a big deal but a longer cord and cord mounting place would be great.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2010-04-15 00:00:00
Great Results
Posted By: Betty Tymoniewicz
Location: Wells, Maine United States
Comments:
"I love this 'jump start' system. I have never had luck starting seeds in the house. The plants are doing well, just transplanted into 4"" pots, but am keeping them under the light. Next year I will get the heating pad for underneath the tray. Over all I am super happy."

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2010-04-06 00:00:00
Jump Start Grow Light is great
Posted By: Lois Olson
Location: Woodinville, Washington United States
Comments:
I am very happy with the Jump Start. It was easy to assemble and seems sturdy and well made. The plants, out to the base on all sides, are all growing straight.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2010-04-01 00:00:00
Good light
Posted By: steve
Location: sierra vista, arizona United States
Comments:
This is a great, easy to use growing light and stand. One thing I wish it had was more bulbs, each 2 feet long. Two or three would be better. This unit has one florescent bulb.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2010-03-19 00:00:00
Jump Start Grow Light
Posted By: Bob
Location: Hereford, Az United States
Comments:
"My seeds started sprouting in 6-7 days, are now 3-4"" tall, all are growing straight and look very good,remember to keep the light close but not to close to the plants. I'm happy."

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2010-03-13 00:00:00
Doesn't work
Posted By: Teresa Witthuhn
Location: Hays, Kansas United States
Comments:
I ordered this light early this year, but just got it put together and turned it on, or tried to. It doesn't work, so don't know if the bulb is defective or the what. Disappointed, as ready to start my seeds and now I can't.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2010-03-10 00:00:00
Find A Better Light
Posted By: DC Grower
Location: Washington, DC United States
Comments:
My seeds started out with a bang about a week ago, they have all germinated more quickly than I expected based on the seed company's information. However, this system has a single bulb in the middle that causes the two seedlings farthest away to bend toward it and not to grow as well. I would recommend looking for a grow light with more even lighting.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2010-03-10 00:00:00
Disappointed
Posted By: Rookie Gardener
Location: Buford, Georgia United States
Comments:
Although it is 2 ft long, the light is only 4 inches wide. The construction of this light system is flimsy. Not worth the money, should have been priced at no more that $20.

Premium SSL Certificate