Gurneys

Get the latest deals from Gurney's Seed & Nursery!

Preview exciting new products, learn about special sale events and lots more. Sign up to start receiving Gurney's Seed & Nursery e-mail updates.

Shopping Cart

0 items in cart
FREE $25
off any order of $50
or more today!

View Product Reviews


11016 - Maximillian Sunflower


< Return to product
 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2007-01-25 00:00:00
beautiful
Posted By: mariel
Location: chardon, ohio United States
Comments:
I thought that I had the most beautiful sunflowers around. My neighbor advised me what to use for fertiziler so away I went, my plant had to have been at least 20 ft high, it sure was beautiful but it didn't have the multides of flowers yours have ,I plan to try my mixture plus your seeds and see what I come up with this summer.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2007-04-06 00:00:00
Sunflower
Posted By: Veronica Myers-Fuqua
Location: Abbeville, Alabama United States
Comments:
My 6 year old and I planted this in different area of our yard. Due to the drought we experienced last year in our area our plants, etc. didn't due well at all. This year after we had all of our bushes removed, then amended the soil and I started planting all new plants & flowers, I noticed all of the sunflowers are coming up we had planted last year. I sure was surprised and happy. All of the plants are several inches tall and I can't wait to see them bloom. We live in zone 8.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2007-09-06 00:00:00
No flowers
Posted By: Suzanne
Location: Kimberton, Pennsylvania United States
Comments:
Purchased several of these last year. No flowers last year. This year, the plants returned, are very green and tall (probably 8 or 9 ft. high) but no flowers, no way. Disappointed.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2007-09-14 00:00:00
First year Flowers!!
Posted By: Dean
Location: Westminster, Colorado United States
Comments:
I recently expanded my large perennial garden to include a full sun strip along my back fence. I wanted to blunt the privacy fence with some tall plants as a backdrop. Not only did these maximillians grow to 9 plus feet the first year, but they bloomed profusely for first year plants. I can't wait for next year.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2008-02-07 00:00:00
Maximillian Sunflowers
Posted By: Janine
Location: Monroe, MI United States
Comments:
We back onto farm fields so I planted these low maintenance flowers in a back corner to brighten the area. They reach about 8 ft. each year & are full of blooms. We discovered you can seed an area simply by cutting a bunch of canes with seed pods & laying them on the area to be seeded. Needs to be thinned/managed like bamboo!

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2008-03-24 00:00:00
Birds love these!
Posted By: Margy
Location: Monte Vista, CO United States
Comments:
We really enjoy the maximillians, and the birds do more, especially goldfinches--a whole little flock passing through were a joy to watch but left no extra seeds. The plants are just off the back patio, get some shade but don't seem to mind. They do need regular water; at our weekend place south of Pagosa Springs, they don't get enough, and the wild turkeys have also chomped some.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2008-04-30 00:00:00
Maximillian sunflowers
Posted By: Veronica Myers-Fuqua
Location: Abbeville, Abbeville United States
Comments:
This is a follow up to last years review of mine. Like I posted before we live in zone 8. Wow, these plants came up again very quickly in the same area we had planted them last year and within 4 weeks they are over 2 1/2 feet tall. Last year they grew well over 10 - 12 feet tall and my husband made a stake system to hold them up. They got so heavy they bent over more then half way up each stem. They were huge and yes they did flower. We love them. One even migrated further away from what we planted and I transplanted it. So far so good after a few days.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2008-06-16 00:00:00
Amazing
Posted By: Ruth
Location: Tooele, Utah United States
Comments:
I planted this sunflower last spring from bareroot. Not only did it grow more than six feet tall, but it bloomed very well from late summer until the first snow. This year, instead of one stem that grew in the first year, more than 20 stems have been produced from the roots. I can't wait for it to bloom in the fall, it should be amazing.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2009-02-17 00:00:00
Maximillian Sunflower
Posted By: Jim
Location: Washington, Iowa United States
Comments:
I purchased this plant a few years ago. I planted it close to some Hollyhocks along my screened in porch to help hide the underside. I planted it on the east side and in clay. After doing so I seriously considered transplanting it but after two weeks you would of thought I planted it in rich iowa topsoil. The next year I split some out and have been putting them all over. This last year they even survived a flood. These plants are as hardy as weeds but a beautiful specimen for attracting butterflies late into the year.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2009-03-10 00:00:00
Just Beautiful
Posted By: Lisa Savard
Location: Pittsburg, NH United States
Comments:
We live in Zone 3 and we just love these hardy, dependable fall bloomers. Since our season is so short, they after are in bloom at the first frost; but that doesn't stop them!These are always the last color in my garden going into late October. Love them!

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2009-04-30 00:00:00
Love them
Posted By: Cassandra
Location: Sandusky, Michigan United States
Comments:
I love this sunflower. I bought one plant two summers ago. They are spreading like a wildfire! Hundreds of beautiful flowers, all from one bareroot!

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2009-06-17 00:00:00
impressive
Posted By: Jason Canen
Location: Logan, Utah United States
Comments:
Everything everyone has said about these is so true. I purchased this last year. It grew one stalk, and it got about 7 feet tall. Well I couldn't wait to see how it did this year. Well when they started to come up I couldn't believe how many new ones there was. I have over 20 plants in one year. That's awesome! I'm splitting them up this fall and sharing them with my family and friends.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2009-08-13 00:00:00
stinks DO NOT BUY
Posted By: Andrew
Location: slatington, pennsylvania United States
Comments:
We have tried everything and the rabbits some how keep eating it. We started with 4 stalks this spring and now only have one. Once the stalks get 3 feet tall they snap. Still have not seen a flower. very disappointed with this product don't purchase. It's not the best flower out there.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2009-08-26 00:00:00
One grew one didn't
Posted By: Salena
Location: Princeton, TX United States
Comments:
I received two of these bareroots and one came up and one didn't, but I tell you the one that did come up grew like a weed. I can't wait for it to bloom!

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2009-08-31 00:00:00
Worked for me
Posted By: Paul
Location: Clifton Park, NY United States
Comments:
The first year they didn't grow that big and I was a little disappointed BUT once they are established they will grow and spread from the many seeds dropped in the fall. I found that growing them in a group then wrapping the entire cluster with some plastic fencing once they get 3-4 feet tall helps keep them vertical. They will have to be staked and/or wrapped with something to achieve the 10' heights otherwise storms will eventually topple them over. I've found that water is key. I put them in an area that full sun and wet nearly all summer and so far this year they are 9'-10' tall. Additionally, I added some inexpensive Wal-Mart rose food on them and that seems to help them grow tall also.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2009-09-19 00:00:00
Xtra care is needed...
Posted By: C Vannoy
Location: Denison, Texas United States
Comments:
These monsters have to be staked like a small tree in order to keep them upright. Ours came up just fine and grew enormously tall, but we discovered that FULL SUN is needed to make blooms like those pictured. Ours did bloom in mixed sun/shade, but all are on long, weedy stems extending from the main trunk. Pretty, just a little odd. We will move it to a sunnier location for next year.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2010-01-11 00:00:00
Falls over
Posted By: Rick
Location: Memphis, TN United States
Comments:
I ordered 1 plant last spring, it looked sad on arrival, but grew after planted. Boy did it grow to like 12 ft tall and was covered with flowers almost like the picture. I did need to stake it though to keep it standing up. It fell over after a heavy rain. Looking forward to seeing what it does this year.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2010-01-29 00:00:00
showstopping
Posted By: Karah
Location: Defiance, Ohio United States
Comments:
I got this plant last spring and started it in the greenhouse. I transplanted to my flowerbed and it took off and grew enormously tall. It was absolutely beautiful. It bloomed well into October, adding color to my quickly fading flowers. Many people had told me they were going to be planting one next season. I would hightly recommend.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2010-04-13 00:00:00
Wow does it come back!
Posted By: Rick Sorak
Location: Memphis, TN United States
Comments:
Last year received and planted the 1 sad plant. It did very well, grew over 12 ft tall and made many flowers. This year it has come back unbelievably with at least 2 dozen plants coming from the root of that original one! It's really gonna be impressive this year.....

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2010-05-26 00:00:00
Taller than ever
Posted By: Jason Canen
Location: Logan, Utah United States
Comments:
Last year this spread really well. In the fall when it was loaded with flowers my wife helped me measure this, and it was just over 13 1/2 feet tall. This year it was spreading big time so I dug serveral new starts and potted them up. I didn't get but a few roots on each one, and they took off and rooted well now. This is one of the easiest plants to grow.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2010-09-19 00:00:00
Bright perfect candy
Posted By: Monica I
Location: Kettering, Ohio United States
Comments:
This is the first year I've had these. The flowers smell like SNICKERS candy bars! They are perfectly beautiful flowers. My plants survived the heatwave and drought in poor soil.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2010-10-18 00:00:00
Late Blooms in MN
Posted By: Jackie
Location: Elk River, Minnesota United States
Comments:
Bought this plant for a rocky spot in front yard. It came to me as a small root and grow to a 7 foot plant by fall. I had no flowers on it till begining of October, but it was worth the wait. Make sure you put in sunny location. I did baby it for the first 6 weeks after that, mother nature did the rest.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2011-08-16 00:00:00
Best Sunflower out there
Posted By: WJCOOK
Location: austin, texas United States
Comments:
Best sunflower plant in my yard. I wish I could show you how tall and full of flowers this plant produces. I have no complaint with this plant, however be prepared for it to spread. It comes back every year. I moved from Lafayette,La. and took a couple of the plants with me to TEXAS. Easy care just water occasionally.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2013-01-07 00:00:00
Gorgeous
Posted By: Tammi
Location: Torrington, Wy United States
Comments:
I bought these and planted in the middle of my flower bed. Absolutely gorgeous flowers...all the way from the bottom to the top it was covered in sunflowers...I am ordering more!!

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2013-02-06 00:00:00
late bloomer
Posted By: Jeff
Location: Reading, Pa. United States
Comments:
This was a sparse late bloomer for us .Mid Sept.!!! It grew huge , just wish it would bloom earlier.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2013-10-29 09:48:08
a show off!! late September
Posted By: walter jordan
Location: fayetteville, NC United States
Comments:
3 years ago i planted one this year i have at least 40 plus i have shared with a friend -up to 12 feet tall very much a favorite in our gardens

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2014-01-25 19:28:13
Awesome
Posted By: Bridget
Location: Moriarty, NM United States
Comments:
I bought a Max from Gurneys about 4 years ago, bareroot, and after 2 years I had enough to share with ALL my friends. Grew 8 feet tall. Didn't succumb to -20F temps. Bloomed like crazy. Beautiful.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2014-04-04 18:20:27
Great Plant for the Southern Plains
Posted By: E Jeter
Location: enid, OK United States
Comments:
I purchased 2 of these. They were about 5 tall. The first year they made multiple stems & grew to 5 feet. I moved them the next year, to an area with very poor Oklahoma soil. Not to worry, they thrived again and grew to 6 feet tall. The next year, they were 7 feet tall, with even more stems. They bloom fairly late, but are covered with yellow flowers. They also sucker, so don't worry about only buying one. You'll end up with more.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2014-06-12 06:53:18
what a show
Posted By: Lori
Location: North Hampton, NH United States
Comments:
This is a fast growing very tall great filler. I have had this for 4 years and I now have 3 very large clumps. After surviving the coldest winter in a long time Maximillian came right back and is now ( 6/12/14) )about 3' tall. Just be careful where you put it, it will take over a sun all day spot. My largest clump in 21/2 ft. wide.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2015-05-24 23:21:41
Sagging Max
Posted By: Jessie
Location: Redmond, OR United States
Comments:
I bought about 1 dozen of these, while i was happy with the growth of these plants & all of the nice flowers, i had a huge problem, once they started getting larger & taller, each plant started hanging down & sagging. I eventually started using ropes to string the stems up onto a fence, this helped somewhat, but what a hassle to have to go thru, but these plants do supply lots of flowers, has anyone else had the sagging problems, as i've had?

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2016-03-02 08:32:22
Best sunflower, low maintenance
Posted By: Liz Coleson
Location: Arlington, VA United States
Comments:
this sun flower grows & multiples with no maintainance in a sunny location. I have had this plant for 15 years and attract butterfies, bees, and is a great hide out for birds.

Close