Send my FREE Garden
Catalog & Coupon Today!

Receive a FREE copy of the Gurney's Seed & Nursery catalog PLUS a coupon for $25 OFF by simply filling out the information below. And don't forget to fill one out for each of your gardening friends.

* First Name
* Last Name
* Address 1
Address 2
* City
* State
* Zip Code
* Email
* Required Email Enter your email address here to receive your
    $25 OFF Instant Coupon!

Get the latest deals from Gurney's Seed & Nursery!

Preview exciting new products, learn about special sale events and lots more.
Sign up to start receiving Gurney's Seed & Nursery e-mail updates.

View Product Reviews


-


< Return to product
 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2014-05-30 19:03:13
Good tree for our area
Posted By: Rebecca Baldwin
Location: Carlsbad, NM United States
Comments:
I had 3 and 2 made it through a snow storm to the following year pretty big green canopy in the summer for lots of shade when it snows I go out and shake the tree to take get the weight of the snow off so the limbs don't break I was going to order more this year but to my surprise I got two seedlings to come up in my rose garden under one of them this year The three year olds are taller than my one story house with a attic

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2013-08-18 10:40:46
Japanese Zelkova
Posted By: Gloria Langer
Location: GREAT BEND, KS United States
Comments:
I planted one of these trees a couple of years ago. Even though I watered it daily during the hot dry months we had last year, it's growth seem to be stunted. But this year we had a lot of rain and cooler temperatures it's now taller than me and i'm only 5'4". It still has new growth every day.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2012-04-02 00:00:00
Great tree---but
Posted By: Peter K.
Location: Fairport, New York United States
Comments:
A great fast-growing and nice looking tree, but deer love to eat the leaves. So protect when small if you live in deer country. But the real problem with a mature tree is that the weak wood the fact that it retains leaves late in the fall results in serious damage if there is an early wet snowfall. I lost my beauty due to the snow damage. Just planted two replacements and hoping for better luck.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2010-07-04 00:00:00
Very sensitive tree
Posted By: John Mikich
Location: Broadview Heights, Ohio United States
Comments:
I bought this tree a couple of years ago. It started growing right away but kind of slowly. It's a very sensitive tree, it's been near dead a couple times but then it regrew again. The Elm I planted nearby is way more superior than the Japanese Zelkova.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2010-05-01 00:00:00
Struggling
Posted By: Eva
Location: Buffalo, NY United States
Comments:
This tree is struggling despite the care I give it. It is cold here but the tree is rated for my zone. I really wanted to see how it turned out, and it is still alive- but barely and I don't see that it will be able to survive with 3 leaves. If you live in the Northeast- it might not make it.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2009-09-23 00:00:00
Better than anticipated
Posted By: Susan
Location: Land of Elvis, TN United States
Comments:
Be sure to read the directions. I read them after I put in two of the five I purchased. Then I soaked the other three as instructed. I only lost one and they're growing like gangbusters. The weather here in Memphis is pretty gnarly in the summer, so deep watering helped them get settled in. This year (year 2), the 4 surviving specimens really took off. We've had a cooler than usual summer and wetter than usual so that helped I think. I loved the American Elm and was glad to find the Zelkova's here (they're hard to find in local nurseries). The only gripe I have is that these are unlabeled cultivars; even the gardeners at Gurney's didn't know what they were. I would order bare root trees again AND I will follow the instructions the first time. ;D

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2009-06-19 00:00:00
You actually get what they say...
Posted By: KC
Location: jackson, ca United States
Comments:
This tree IS actually a 3-4' bareroot. Out of all the items I ordered, this was the best. Soaked the roots and planted it, has sprouted wonderfully and I am pleased with this offering. Can't wait to see what it matures to.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2009-06-02 00:00:00
Fast Grower
Posted By: Ric
Location: Chelsea, MA United States
Comments:
Got my tree about three weeks ago and already there are new branches growing out of it. I've read that it can grow as much as 2 feet a year. If that's the case this will be a beautiful tree in just 5 years. I'll post an update if anything changes, but right now I'm impressed.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2008-03-15 00:00:00
Best kept secret
Posted By: Sherry Dewey
Location: Bellevue, NE United States
Comments:
This is a great tree! It is also beautiful in shape and truly the best kept secret in trees.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2008-03-15 00:00:00
Best kept secret
Posted By: Sherry Dewey
Location: Bellevue, NE United States
Comments:
Great tree!!! best kept secret in trees. Beautiful shape and color and size.

Premium SSL Certificate