Gurneys

Get the latest deals from Gurney's Seed & Nursery!

Preview exciting new products, learn about special sale events and lots more. Sign up to start receiving Gurney's Seed & Nursery e-mail updates.

Shopping Cart

0 items in cart
FREE $25
off any order of $50
or more today!

View Product Reviews


08727 - Hybrid Poplar Tree


< Return to product
 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2007-12-14 00:00:00
Awsome trees!
Posted By: Greg
Location: Antioch, TN United States
Comments:
Planted 10 of these last spring. Came as specified bare-root, 2-3 foot twigs. It's December now, and I have a 9 foot tall windbreak. Awsome trees in 1 season.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2008-02-19 00:00:00
Amazing
Posted By: L
Location: Tempe, AZ United States
Comments:
My mom got some of these a few years ago. they grow great even here in the desert!

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2008-07-05 00:00:00
Fast growin' & great shade
Posted By: Nelson
Location: Pratt, Kansas United States
Comments:
Bought and planted these several years ago. Two are taller than my 2 story house - just 6 years olds. Prone to wind and ice damage. Started shading my house in their 3rd year. Have planted these at 2 homes and they've been great!!

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2009-05-11 00:00:00
Update
Posted By: Michael Weiner
Location: Chicago, IL United States
Comments:
Update from prior review. One of the two trees I bought survived the winter, but there seems to be some ice damage at the top of each limb (no leaves growing and looks dead. The other treee started to come back and now has died.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2010-03-29 00:00:00
Great Trees
Posted By: JP
Location: Harrison, AR United States
Comments:
I bought four hybrid poplars, could not ask for a faster growing shade tree. Allready 10ft tall.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2010-04-01 00:00:00
Fastest growing trees ever!
Posted By: Cori
Location: Longmeadow, MA United States
Comments:
I bought (5) of these trees Three years ago. They arrived as single sticks. Three had accidents with my husbands lawnmower and didn't survive. I have Two remaining that are about two stories high, and 6 feet across and the bottom trunks are atleast 6 inches across in diameter. People who saw me plant these things three years, and laughed, are completely SHOCKED to see how big they are, and in such a short time. I actually just got online to order some more.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2010-06-09 00:00:00
Poplars
Posted By: Doreen Redmer Goff
Location: Buhl, ID United States
Comments:
I bought poplars for the fast and tall block and privacy need. they were great until this last two years. They have been dropping cotton like seeds all over my place that get tracked into my house and fill my porch and patio so I cant sit in my patio or walk in the walk way without draging them in the house. what a mess. There a great fast growing tree and provide great wind block for my house, but what a mess while there seeding....When the wind blows there every where. I wish I new this before I planted then so close to the house. I spend more time cleaning up after them to keep them from being track into the house and garage....There has to be some thing I could of planted thats not so messy?

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2010-06-26 00:00:00
Awesome
Posted By: Kim
Location: Chelsea, Michigan United States
Comments:
Perfect tree for fast shade and privacy. We have a lot of sun and tons of wind and this tree is doing fabulous. we bought this tree two years ago and its already 20ft. tall. We plan to buy several more.... Wish we would've purchased more two years ago.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2010-08-21 00:00:00
Who's laughing now
Posted By: L
Location: Monticello, WI United States
Comments:
I purchased these trees a year ago for our new house in the country. Wasn't sure where I was going to plant them so I gave them a temporary home before running out the door on vacation. My family didn't think it was necessary to plant these sticks because really, what were they going to grow into. This spring they received their permanent location and what a surprise they are to my family when we look at them and I'm laughing now because of how well they've grown in the first year.... Glad I took the advice of the gentleman at the hardware store to purchase Hybrid Poplar for a fast growing tree for a lot with no shade.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2012-03-02 00:00:00
Not yet impressed
Posted By: Anonymous
Location: Halstad, Minnesota United States
Comments:
I ordered 20 of these hybrid poplars about a year ago. They came at about 4 feet tall as just sticks/trunks (and it looked like the trunks had all been cut at the top to be that height), with no branches or leaves. 16 of the poplars did produce leaves, but did not grow vertically at all. The other 4 must have just had mostly dead trunks, because they only produced a few leaves at the base of the trunks at ground level. If you live where there are deer, make sure they are fenced and deer netted in, because the deer will devour them quickly to about ground level. We had all of ours fenced, but ran out of netting, so 5 of them didn't get the net. The deer somehow managed to eat those 5 down to almost ground level even with fences around them, deer repellant, and the scent of our big dogs. Hopefully we'll see some vertical growth and branches this year on the trees that didn't get damaged, and started out healthy looking. If we do, then I will increase my rating, but definitely don't look for anything spectacular or more than leaves, the first year.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2012-03-30 00:00:00
Truely Missed
Posted By: Ruben
Location: LaFayette, Kentucky United States
Comments:
Looked forward to getting these trees to see what they'd do for my backyard. Got them in the peak of planting season and put them in the ground as not much more than sticks. Once in the grouns and watered they took off like a rocket. The first year they grew 10 feet and sprouted three new limbs. I would recommend these trees to anyone in the central region of the USA. To bad I will not be able to see these trees reach full potential. I had to relocate to Texas and probably won't make it back to Kentucky anytime soon.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2013-09-09 13:51:44
Ky Pit Bullz
Posted By: al schork
Location: Greenville, KY United States
Comments:
Received four sticks apx four foot tall w/ circumference of a pencil and no foilage in May 2013...September 2013 update... All four apx 25 ft tall, abundant limbs & foilage, circumference apx 3 inches... best buy/value in 40+ yrs of gardening...Need a good shade tree? I rate on a 1 to 10 scale a big fat 12...Thank you Gurneys

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2013-10-05 15:28:10
Excellent Trees
Posted By: J.
Location: Bel Air, MD United States
Comments:
I bought these as seedlings back in 2005. They looked so tiny I had my doubts, but oh my how wrong I was. These trees have just thrived. I have 2 planted on a side of my property that regularly had a great deal of standing water after a rain, and then planted 3 on another side of the lot that stays pretty much high & dry. I am happy to report that these trees have grown to about 40 to 50 feet in height since then ( it is now 2013 ) and they have robustly withstood violent storms to include hurricane force winds, a local microburst/tornado, and a blizzard. The trees that are on the wet side of the lot have thicker trunks than those on the dry side, but otherwise they look identical. The wet side of the lot also no longer holds water as long as these trees help drink it up nicely. My neighbor told me yesterday that one of his adult kids who visited him guessed these trees to be 30 years old based on size and height.If I ever buy another house that needs trees, I would not hesitate to buy these again.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2014-03-17 10:47:12
fantastic
Posted By: alana
Location: prescott valley, AZ United States
Comments:
we received our trees they just looked like a stick, soaked our roots for 2 hrs put them in the ground...4 days later we have buds! amazing how a stick comes alive! also the root system and taproot were perfectly strong

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2014-03-30 10:27:35
great choice
Posted By: alana
Location: prescott valley, AZ United States
Comments:
we received our stick in the mail. we have had it about 5 weeks now and there is plenty of limbs starting to come out. this will be a fast grower I can tell :)

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2014-06-21 12:17:30
Wow - Shade
Posted By: Kandee Linden
Location: Los Gatos, CA United States
Comments:
You can almost watch this tree grow-beautiful, no cones etc. to fall, beautiful fall leaves

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2014-12-21 20:16:47
Time will tell
Posted By: Dan
Location: Cold Spring, MN United States
Comments:
I purchased 6 of these trees in 1991 to create quick shade for a new home. 25 years later these tree are 75' tall and have provided wonderful shade and survived many tough Minnesota winters and storm. I am now cutting a couple down to make custom wood product, beautiful graining

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2015-03-06 07:55:25
Amazing
Posted By: Calvin
Location: Price, UT United States
Comments:
I planted 28 trees and all grew from a small bare root twig to 8 feet beautiful trees in two years now. I haven't lost one tree and I think the bare root allowed for adaptation to our clay alkaline soil. I can send pics if you'd like to see their growth.

Close