Gurneys

Get the latest deals from Gurney's Seed & Nursery!

Preview exciting new products, learn about special sale events and lots more. Sign up to start receiving Gurney's Seed & Nursery e-mail updates.

Shopping Cart

0 items in cart
FREE $25
off any order of $50
or more today!

View Product Reviews


08715A - American Hazelnut Tree


< Return to product
 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2007-07-23 00:00:00
More dead trees
Posted By: Jim B
Location: Nesconset, NY United States
Comments:
Like the previous poster I ordered my trees in mid-winter. Gurney's shipped them at a time when the ground was frozen solid and impossible to plant. The trees, as might be expected, died. Gurney's was quick to replace them but this time shipped them during summer heat. They spent two weeks in the back rooms of our various Post Offices and again, did not survive. I've given up on the Nut trees from Gurney's. The blueberries and rhubarb I got in the same order are doing well. They must be tougher plants.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2008-02-15 00:00:00
Not necessarily dead.
Posted By: Rich
Location: Foreston, MN United States
Comments:
Before you fall into despair that your hazelnut (filbert) trees are dead, give them a chance! I live in the far northern part of the U.S. (zone 3/4) and my 3 year old hazelnut trees (planted at 1 year) are doing great. The first year after planting 12, I mistakenly mowed over 3 of them, and I left them for dead, but a month later, there were leaves on the stems that were left, and they quickly recovered. Also, a large truck ran over another of my hazelnut trees after the second year, and (again left for dead) that one also quickly recovered. Hazelnut trees are suprisingly durable!!

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2008-04-23 00:00:00
Tough and fast-growing
Posted By: Jill McCracken
Location: Bowlus, MN United States
Comments:
I planted 2 small trees of 2 yrs ago. One is getting big and bushy; the other is coming back after being downed by a speeding horse. I got 2 more this month and they arrived in great shape. Too early for outside, but they are tucked into a big grow bag patiently waiting to go out and play/grow.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2008-05-09 00:00:00
Shipping date disaster
Posted By: Mazewalker
Location: Evans, Colorado United States
Comments:
In general, I certainly appreciate Gurneys. However, as proven by my Hazelnut trees, they all to often really goof on their shipping dates. Even by their own posted shipping schedule they shipped my plants at the wrong time. Guess what? They died. But, Gurneys is great as replacing dead plants. They just can't replace the hastle of planting and replanting. Nonetheless, I'll keep using Gurneys. Their pricing, quality, and guarantee to replace are unbeatable.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2008-05-23 00:00:00
hazelnut tree
Posted By: T. Eshbach
Location: greenacres, washington United States
Comments:
Bought 2 of these trees last year. looked like dead sticks. kind of died back to smallest/4 inch high plants ever saw. Did make though our winter here. still only 4-5 inches tall. guess I must have patience see what happens. Hope to get nuts before i die.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2009-04-06 00:00:00
SLOW
Posted By: James
Location: Powell, Ohio United States
Comments:
I had the same issue as another person on this thread commented. I received a dead looking stick about two years ago and the stick basically died but a bunch of small branches came out of the bottom. I have been reluctant to prune but at this rate. I really doubt I will see these tress produce anything.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2009-04-25 00:00:00
Poor
Posted By: Jill
Location: Morrison, CO United States
Comments:
Very disappointed. Was advertised 2-4' tree and I got about a 16 dead stick. I planted it 2 years ago and it's still a dead stick! DO NOT BUY THIS!

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2010-01-09 00:00:00
Success
Posted By: Angelo
Location: Jackson, Michigan United States
Comments:
I bought mine 4 years ago and had what looked like dead sticks also. I kept at it and they are now 4 ft bushes and produced nuts this fall! Should have a big harvest next year. Don't give up, it sounds like you just need patience

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2010-04-29 00:00:00
I'm buying more!
Posted By: Rick
Location: New Market, TN United States
Comments:
Got two dead looking sticks this spring. Both have trippled in size and look great. Only problem I had was that I did not check them for a few days and insects had damaged them. After a spray they have made a weed growth spurt. I am fixing to buy several more!

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2010-05-06 00:00:00
Nice looking start.
Posted By: Greg
Location: Decatur, IL United States
Comments:
I just planted these a month ago so I do not have a lot to comment on. The trees arived and I followed the directions with them. They have all leafed out and look like they are off to a good start. We will have to see how they hold up to the winter weather that we have here, with multiple freeze thaw cycles that are typicle in this region.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2013-05-21 00:00:00
Tiny nutmeats
Posted By: Christa Stoscheck
Location: Jackson, Tennessee United States
Comments:
These bushes grow very well in TN, but the nutmeats are about the size of a pencil eraser. It took me an hour to get 1/2 cup of nuts shelled. The nuts also have husks and the nuts can be difficult to remove from these. Buy these bushes for wildlife, not practical for human consumption.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2015-04-25 09:48:41
Fantastic Trees - Don't get discouraged
Posted By: H. Lange
Location: Toney, AL United States
Comments:
The best advice I can give is, plant them right, be patient, don't get discouraged, and follow the care and feeding advice for your area and soil. You will not be disappointed.When I first considered planting Hazelnut trees, the reviews on the Gurney website were not very encouraging. But I decided to buy four of them anyway. The trees arrived and like everyone else describes them, they looked like sticks. The unexpected long winter we were experiencing was preventing us from planting them. I thought my plans were doomed to failure. My son and I kept them moist in their original shipping container for three weeks before we were able to plant them. Then more gloom and doom because two weeks after we planted them, we had another hard freeze. I thought for sure they were gonna be sticks this time, but we kept up the feeding and care of the new trees. Now, seven weeks later and they are growing like weeds. They are only two feet tall, but each one of them is covered in leafs and growing like nothing happened. I would post pictures, but that's not an option here.When we planted them we dug a 2 foot diameter, 2 foot deep hole. We mixed 2 gallons of peat moss, 1 gallon of manure, 3/4 gallon of sand, and a quart of perlite with the soil we dug up for the planting. We used tree bark mulch to cover the two foot diameter area around the tree after they were planted. We water them every 2-3 days when it doesn't rain.

Close