Gurneys

Get the latest deals from Gurney's Seed & Nursery!

Preview exciting new products, learn about special sale events and lots more. Sign up to start receiving Gurney's Seed & Nursery e-mail updates.

Shopping Cart

0 items in cart
FREE $25
off any order of $50
or more today!

View Product Reviews


07024 - American Smoketree


< Return to product
 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2007-05-24 00:00:00
Looking Good
Posted By: Anita Exum
Location: Plant City, Florida United States
Comments:
This tree leafed out quick. Hope to see a display of flowers in the months to come. Will rate higher at a later date, if it produces the flumes of flowers as expected.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2007-10-30 00:00:00
dissapointed
Posted By: Anita Exum
Location: Plant City, Florida United States
Comments:
Well fall is here in Florida but instead of the leaves turning colors they didn't. Once the leaves started turning yellow they turned brown and have begun to fall off. This was a tree full of nice leaves too. So this was a big dissapointment for me.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2008-02-16 00:00:00
Pink Smokey's R Great
Posted By: William Smith
Location: Lebanon, Virginia United States
Comments:
When I first got these, I was skeptical...just looked like sticks but I planted them. I was amazed at how the sticks started sprouting growth and leaves...color change of leaves was great...later the next Spring, I had beautiful pink flumes all through August. Great!

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2008-04-06 00:00:00
Fast Growing Tree
Posted By: Niki G
Location: Bussey, IA United States
Comments:
Like another reviewer said I was somewhat skeptical when I first recieved this last spring. It was just a single branch around 12 long. I planted it when it was still cool, end of March here, and was afraid it might be a shock to it's system. This tree did really well and branched up and out at least 6 12 long stems. It also had very beautiful foilage. Dark leaves. It did lose it's leaves this winter, but is starting to bud out again this spring. It never produced plumes last year, but a fruit tree doesn't produce fruit the first year and most flowering perennials don't bloom fully the first year either. So hopefully in the next year or two it will start producing the pink plumes. I only rated this a four due to the small size of the tree when you first recieve it. But I am very satisfied with it.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2008-05-27 00:00:00
a lot for a little
Posted By: Nancy C
Location: Orondo, WA United States
Comments:
We live at the western base of the Columbia Plateau in a hot, summer-baked rock pile! I look for plants that are drought tolerant but still have something to offer. What isn't mentioned about the smoke tree in the description is its phenomenal fall leaves--orange, red, burgundy---that stay on long, long after the sumac and burning bushes. We have a harsh, sandy environment here, but these sweet little trees don't take much compared to what they give. After a couple of springs, it's now over 5 feet (pretty good for growing in pure subsoil!). Spring's barely here and I can hardly wait for fall just to see that beautiful color.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2009-03-03 00:00:00
1 of 3 made it
Posted By: Lori
Location: Cumberland, MD. United States
Comments:
I ordered (3) of these, like others they were little Sticks with hair, I was unsure what I would get... Of the # I ordered Only One make the trip... Now it is beautiful, and this will be its second year in the ground, I have yet to see the Flower Pink yet, but the leaves are beauiful, and the one that did make it seems to really have taking off...It has great hieght, and I can't wait to see the Pink color come our... Don't know how long it usually takes but hoping this year to be my year... The only reason I rated this a (3) is because of the other (2) that didn't make it :(

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2009-03-17 00:00:00
Beautiful tree
Posted By: Anita
Location: Plant city, Florida United States
Comments:
The first year I ordered this tree, I did see the flumes and they were so pretty. Hope this year there are more flumes than last year.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2009-09-17 00:00:00
Great Tree
Posted By: Niki
Location: Bussey, Iowa United States
Comments:
I bought one of these trees either 3 or 4 springs ago. It came and was alive but did pretty much look like a dead stick. I planted it and was somewhat skeptical. However after 3-4 years it has grown to be a beautiful tree. It is about 6 foot tall and has thick beautiful foilage. Although, I have yet to see it flower out and have it's pink feathery appearance. I'm hoping next year it will feather out. I have also heard everyone say that this tree perfers dry/sandy/rocky soil. However, I live in Iowa and have black soil that has absolutely no rocks in it and it also tends to be quite wet and it has done very well.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2010-04-29 00:00:00
Gurney's you're awesome
Posted By: Debbie
Location: Edmond, OK United States
Comments:
My twigs came from Gurney's yesterday and I planted them today. Gurney's did a beautiful job shipping them. The roots were wrapped and insulated to keep them moist. I can't wait to see if they make it. The instruction booklet that came with them was most helpful. Thanks Gurney's. I'll let you know how they make it here in OK

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2010-05-15 00:00:00
impressed
Posted By: Ray
Location: Tucumcari, NM United States
Comments:
Bought one tree 2 years ago and it has grown about 3 feet first year, just leaves. Bought 2 more this year and in 2 months already have a lot of leaves, hope the first one flowers this year, shows signs of it now. We have very bad soil and a lot of rocks, but I water on drip system all year long.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2010-11-24 00:00:00
Pink Smoketree
Posted By: Anja
Location: Pleasanton, California United States
Comments:
I bought a Pink Smoketree about five years ago and it grew fast. Unfortunately, have not seen it bloom. It looks like it's diseased with wrinkled leaves. Very leggy branches. Not real happy with it.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2012-05-13 00:00:00
gorgeous pink clouds
Posted By: diane
Location: cincinnati, ohio United States
Comments:
i cant say enough about this pink smoke tree.i planted 3 in the back of my gazebo about 3-4 yrs ago. i lost one and the other two took off. now are taller than my gazebo and the pink clouds look absolutely beautifully above the gazebo roof.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2014-01-24 11:55:49
Smoke tree
Posted By: Barbara
Location: Irma, WI United States
Comments:
Love this tree

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2015-04-09 18:23:07
pink smoke tree
Posted By: Lisa
Location: Saint Peter, MN United States
Comments:
really pretty! They must take good as mine are always crawling with black hornets

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2015-11-09 15:25:35
AMERICAN SMOKETREE
Posted By: carolyn pinto
Location: Staten Island, NY United States
Comments:
in september, 2002 78 fireman planted 78 american smoketrees in memory of the 78 fireman from staten island, new york that perished in the world trade center on september 11, 2001. they were sticks also planted in a filled highway medium. they were watered by the fireman in september and october of 2002 and flourished every since. they are watered by rain only and are extremely drought resistant. to all the reviewers i can tell you that the american smoketree needs full sun. does not really need much water. it makes a lime green plume that turns to pink. in the fall the foilage is also beautiful. the leaves of the trees have a citrus smell. being that the display is in the middle of four roads (one being a service road into the boroughs of new york city), i am glad our garden club decided on the beautiful smoketree to honor our heroes. it was a very good decision.

Close