Send my FREE Garden
Catalog & Coupon Today!

Receive a FREE copy of the Gurney's Seed & Nursery catalog PLUS a coupon for $25 OFF by simply filling out the information below. And don't forget to fill one out for each of your gardening friends.

* First Name
* Last Name
* Address 1
Address 2
* City
* State
* Zip Code
* Email
* Required Email Enter your email address here to receive your
    $25 OFF Instant Coupon!

Get the latest deals from Gurney's Seed & Nursery!

Preview exciting new products, learn about special sale events and lots more.
Sign up to start receiving Gurney's Seed & Nursery e-mail updates.

View Product Reviews


-


< Return to product
 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2014-02-28 20:57:56
I LOVE THESE PLANTS
Posted By: Lynn Rush
Location: St. Charles, MO United States
Comments:
As I said, I LOVE THESE PLANTS. They have bloomed from the first year. I have gotten other people to buy them and theirs did well for the first year. After starting out with a couple of these plants in my shady front yard, I keep adding more. Lengthy bloom period.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2013-12-29 23:08:48
Neat olants & flowers
Posted By: Kathleen
Location: Nashville, TN United States
Comments:
I have green and purple ones. It's such a thrill to have them bloom when nothing else is happening in the yard, and the plants stay green almost all year. They did take a year to bloom, and the green ones bloomed before the purple. The plants that did the best were heavily mulched and shaded--TN summers are hot!

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2013-11-02 13:06:51
never bloomed
Posted By: michelle
Location: yakima, WA United States
Comments:
received my plants in march. only 1 survived long enough to grow. but i never did get any flowers on the plant. hoping it blooms this coming spring.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2012-02-08 00:00:00
Update - Aubergine Flowers Too
Posted By: Veloria
Location: Brooklyn, ny United States
Comments:
In the 4th year Aubergine flowers started to show. Not just the green ones. Despite the leaves constantly having holes from the voracious slugs and snails in my garden, the plants have continued to grow. The original plants grew to a nice size. But the self sown seedlings never really took off so instead I was able to divide each plant. It's been 6 months and the divisions have taken nicely. It's February now and I'm seeing buds ready to bloom. Wish there were more buds, but it is a shade garden after all!

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2009-09-21 00:00:00
Green flowers in 2nd year
Posted By: Veloria
Location: Brooklyn, NY United States
Comments:
"The plants took a couple years to thrive and flower so I was rather disappointed when the ""mix"" turned out to be all green. But I am enjoying the perennials in my year round shade. Make sure to remove any browning leaves. This being the 3rd year, they have begun to self sow little seedlings. "

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2008-02-18 00:00:00
They work for me
Posted By: Donna Putney
Location: Honea Path, SC United States
Comments:
I put helleborus in urns in deep shade under an east-facing patio, and they do well. Last year's foilage dies off as the new leaves come, so they take a little tiding each spring. The plants need to be a few years old to start blooming, but the flowers are impressive, and they bloom every year after that. Given good soil and conditions, the plants get bigger every year, and last for years and years.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2008-01-22 00:00:00
Have a bunch from 6
Posted By: G. Cooper
Location: Birmingham, AL United States
Comments:
My original order was for six about 4 years ago. Now there are hundreds. Year before last I collected all the seed pods from the spent flowers and kept them in a bucket for a while. I shelled them like peas and threw them out and into the woods. Looks great in the winter. Only one problem. The leaves on bottom turn black. For this year, I cut all of them down for 2008 and they are coming back beautifully.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2008-01-10 00:00:00
I love them but...
Posted By: Mullins
Location: Suffolk, VA United States
Comments:
"I love these plants. Unfortunately, they don't do too well in my area. I originally purchased four plants. After five years, two are alive. I have seen them bloom once so far. You don't have to worry about expanding space for them to grow. All the ones I have owned, grow for 2 years then stay around the same size. Very attractive foliage and the blooms are a nice surprise when they bloom."

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2007-11-11 00:00:00
Might work for you
Posted By: C.Wray
Location: Chicago area, Il United States
Comments:
"I planted these 2 years ago.The first year was drought; they barely made it. This year, nice big green leaves but no flowers, I am beginning to wonder if I got the plant I ordered. "

Premium SSL Certificate