Send my FREE Garden
Catalog & Coupon Today!

Receive a FREE copy of the Gurney's Seed & Nursery catalog PLUS a coupon for $25 OFF by simply filling out the information below. And don't forget to fill one out for each of your gardening friends.

* First Name
* Last Name
* Address 1
Address 2
* City
* State
* Zip Code
* Email
* Required Email Enter your email address here to receive your
    $25 OFF Instant Coupon!

Get the latest deals from Gurney's Seed & Nursery!

Preview exciting new products, learn about special sale events and lots more.
Sign up to start receiving Gurney's Seed & Nursery e-mail updates.

View Product Reviews


66325 - Argonaut Hybrid Butternut Winter Squash


< Return to product
 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2014-04-15 16:40:06
Make sure you have a lot of room!
Posted By: SONJA H. HANSEN
Location: JOSEPH CITY, AZ United States
Comments:
These vines took over the whole garden. The squash were huge. We just laughed every day because you could almost watch them grow. We filled the whole truck to overflowing and distributed them around the neighborhood and beyond. The meat is very sweet and delicious, but much too watery for the pies I like to make. We are going back to the standard beloved butternuts!

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2013-12-14 13:24:58
Excellent Tasting Squash
Posted By: Sandy
Location: Victorville, CA United States
Comments:
These squash have a wonderful flavor and will be a family favorite since planting them in 2013.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2013-11-18 10:06:55
amazing squash
Posted By: alan
Location: coudersport, PA United States
Comments:
I live in northern pa. we don't have a real long growing season but I decided to try to grow this squash. I started one plant inside in early may in the first part of June I planted it in my garden by mid summer vines grew to about 20ft. by October I had 11 giant squash. I then harvest them and put them in my cellar to keep from freezing. the second week of November my wife cooked one and that is some of the best squash that we have had. we will have plenty of squash for the winter now. I will order more of the same squash seeds next spring.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2013-10-28 19:06:21
Winter Squash, Hybrid Argonaut (Butternut)
Posted By: Lynda Schripsema
Location: Lynden, WA United States
Comments:
Amazing huge squash, even after planting late. Just baked the first one and it tastes great, but having planted right next to my spaghetti squash, the Argonauts (butternut) must have cross-pollinated because the cooked flesh comes apart in strands just like spaghetti squash! Will try again next year, far from each other.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2013-05-13 00:00:00
BIGGEST BUTTERNUT EVER
Posted By: Chris
Location: Port Byron, IL United States
Comments:
ever see invasion of the body snatchers? nuff said!

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2011-04-19 00:00:00
excellent keeper too
Posted By: Colin
Location: Leesburg, VA United States
Comments:
Giant squash that keep extremely well. I picked some that weren't ripe (due to the 140-150 days maturitiy) and we have been eating them all winter. I still have one remaining that I picked in October and it is just about 100% orange now. No signs of spoilage and it has been 6 months!

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2010-10-15 00:00:00
Fabulous !
Posted By: BethP
Location: Jackson, MS United States
Comments:
Absolutely ginormous butternut squashes. Friends thought these were watermelons. They *smell* like watermelons when you cut them. They're just that sweet! One smallish one (25lbs) took up 2 half sheet pans with slices when I cooked it. Kids love these cooked in pancakes & so good for them! wonderful grilled too. 250lbs of squash from one vine is a bargain for the space. Next year we'll take even better care of them and hopefully get even more. That 250lbs was w/o watering, mulching, fertilizing or really weeding. We let it wander on the lawn. Still about 40lbs of squashes left on vine. Hope they get ripe before frost. We'll use frost cloth if things get iffy. The days to yield (140 days) is the truth, though. We'll start these even earlier, in peat pots, next year. Definitely planting this one again. Friends will be planting this one as well, they were simply amazed.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2010-03-12 00:00:00
THIS BUTTERNUT ROCKS!!!
Posted By: Marc Richter
Location: Charlotte, VT United States
Comments:
This is one of my favorites! I have been growing it since Gurney's introduced it! It is all that is promised. In 2008 my largest fruit was 25 pounds! It lasted a full year and I ate it August 2009! It made a delicious Butternut Squash Bisque.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2010-03-10 00:00:00
Bigger and better
Posted By: Lee
Location: Des Moines, IA United States
Comments:
"Wow! I'll never waste garden space on butternuts again. Argonauts are HUGE on healthy, aggressive vines. My vines climbed my 6-ft tomato cages & sprouted 2-ft,fat squash, which happily hung there thru Iowa's notorious ""walls of wind"" & tornado gales. Spring was cold, I planted late, I harvested green 'uns & they ripened over time in my kitchen (~68 degrees, usually). Made pies with the last ones after Christmas. These are a great leap forward in getting the most food from the least space."

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2009-06-28 00:00:00
First time
Posted By: Caroline King
Location: Haughton, LA United States
Comments:
First year for Argonaut. Walthams have always been good crop each year but this year we placed them in a different area of the garden and they all but died and produce small fruits. The argonaut have been very successful and large. They are about 4 weeks from harvest. I only have one concern, mine are still green in color and large but not one bit orange like the picture.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2008-01-06 00:00:00
Oh My God!
Posted By: Toni
Location: Cooleemee, North Carolina United States
Comments:
All the taste of a butter nut, but twice the size. Just one of these was enough for three dinners, after being cooked. This plant will be a fixture in my garden from now on.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2007-09-16 00:00:00
WOW
Posted By: virginia
Location: great bend, kansas United States
Comments:
"The squash to grow for a lots of meat. Thick, very sweet and enormous. Our favorite winter squash now! Especially good for large families."

Premium SSL Certificate