Send my FREE Garden
Catalog & Coupon Today!

Receive a FREE copy of the Gurney's Seed & Nursery catalog PLUS a coupon for $25 OFF by simply filling out the information below. And don't forget to fill one out for each of your gardening friends.

* First Name
* Last Name
* Address 1
Address 2
* City
* State
* Zip Code
* Email
* Required Email Enter your email address here to receive your
    $25 OFF Instant Coupon!

Get the latest deals from Gurney's Seed & Nursery!

Preview exciting new products, learn about special sale events and lots more.
Sign up to start receiving Gurney's Seed & Nursery e-mail updates.

View Product Reviews


66293A - Big Max Pumpkin


< Return to product
 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2012-03-27 00:00:00
Big Max
Posted By: Ray
Location: Burton, Ohio United States
Comments:
The Big Max will produce a nice size pumpkin, if you take basic care of them. I planted 24 plants and ended up with (18) 70lbs pumpkins and (6) 50lbs ones. I also only allowed for one pumpkin to grow per plant.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2011-03-14 00:00:00
Beautiful large pumpkins
Posted By: Shawna
Location: Strawberry Point, Iowa United States
Comments:
I planted these pumpkins along with the Dill's Atlantic. I planted them in a sandy soil. Every single seed I planted germinated. The plants took off and grew everywhere. The leaves and vines were huge. I had so many pumpkins that I didn't know what to do with them all. We had to use a skidloader and manpower to move them. Big Max also keeps a pumpkin shape well so it looks nice.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2010-09-22 00:00:00
Pretty good
Posted By: Sean
Location: Northeast, Missouri United States
Comments:
I didn't think I was going to like these plants at first. They take their sweet time gettin established from seeds to solid plants. Once they are established however...watch out. The vines will grow to 20+ ft easily. Some good sized fruit too tho I haven't weighed any of them yet. Not massive by any means but not bad either. Alot more resistant to cucumber beetles than Dills Atlantic. I will be planting these again next year

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2010-08-20 00:00:00
look out
Posted By: Tim A
Location: Pittsfield, ma United States
Comments:
I bought two types of pumpkins, big max and Lumina. I planted them in the same bed. The big max tended to have longer vines and over took of my drive-way the vines are 20 feet long! There was some cross pollination with the luminas but they didnt make it. Too bad they were funky looking. I have learned to water the roots and not the leaves. And I use 1 lb of 10-10-10 granules once a week. And look out. They are huge my neighbors are starting to befriend mea+ for sure

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2009-08-26 00:00:00
ok not great
Posted By: Jeff
Location: burton, OH United States
Comments:
These pumpkins grew ok. I got one off each plant one really nice one and the other 2 were avarage size no way close to any 50+ thats a load. I wish they would have a few more than one per plant . I'll see how they turn out next year.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2007-07-12 00:00:00
Big Max Pumpkins
Posted By: Ken
Location: Morrow, Ohio United States
Comments:
These are nice large pumpkins. It is important to plant the seeds deeper when the ground is hot and more dry. Germination occurs much better.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2007-03-31 00:00:00
pleased
Posted By: jennifer
Location: clarkson, ky United States
Comments:
all the plants did fine in my garden with out any care. harvested over 20 huge pumpkins.

Premium SSL Certificate