Gurneys

Get the latest deals from Gurney's Seed & Nursery!

Preview exciting new products, learn about special sale events and lots more. Sign up to start receiving Gurney's Seed & Nursery e-mail updates.

Shopping Cart

0 items in cart
FREE $25
off any order of $50
or more today!

View Product Reviews


-


< Return to product
 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2008-08-05 00:00:00
blackberrys
Posted By: Sam
Location: Marion, Ohio United States
Comments:
they are the best berries in the world

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2008-08-23 00:00:00
You must try these
Posted By: Valerie
Location: Baltimore, Maryland United States
Comments:
I have grown these for 4 years now. The plants are highly disease resistant and produce huge berries. This year, I picked about 20+ pounds of berries. They will need a strong fence for support. Just prune to about 4 feet before Winter, feed in the Spring and early Summer, and wait for wonderful berries in August.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2008-08-27 00:00:00
Prolific producer
Posted By: Glenn
Location: Marine City, MI United States
Comments:
The first 2 years I had a very low yeild. Now my 3 plants are 3 years old and this year I have been getting around handful to a pint a day of very large semi-sweet-tart berries for about a month now. I've gotten more thna I can eat. Great plant, have patients.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2009-03-30 00:00:00
Good this year
Posted By: Salena
Location: Princeton, TX United States
Comments:
I ordered these last year, and they tried and tried, but didn't do much. And alas, they didn't come back this year. Gurneys promptly sent a replacement, and the new plants are going crazy!!! We thought we'd have a while before we needed to build them something to climb on, we were wrong, they are growing like crazy!!! We are hoping for berries this year.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2009-07-31 00:00:00
WOW!!
Posted By: John
Location: Harrison City, PA United States
Comments:
Planted these berries last spring. Had a handful of berries last July but this July.......Looks like there will be blackberry jelly, blackberry pie and blackberry wine all from these six plants. You won't be disappointed, trust me.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2009-08-10 00:00:00
Wonderful!!
Posted By: Marie
Location: Olathe, Kansas United States
Comments:
I purchased and planted six of these plants three years ago. Five of them died. The one remaining has grown and spread to over 60 feet of blackberry plants growing along my privacy fence. This year we have harvested over 7 gallons of berries. The plants are pretty and thornless and make a great cover for my old fence. The berries and huge and sweet. I've made 9 pints of jam so far and have enough berries to make at least that much more.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2010-07-13 00:00:00
wow
Posted By: lou
Location: monaca, pa United States
Comments:
bought 3 plants last year got my twigs in the mail planted them did not hold out much hope but was very surprised this year they are huge very trainable for shaping much fruit very good it is mid July and still much more ripening on the vines only drawback is I like em fresh the wife likes to make blackberry pie highly recommend buying just don't get discouraged when you see twigs show in the mail they will most likely thrive

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2010-07-28 00:00:00
Vigorous plants
Posted By: MBM
Location: Richland, WA United States
Comments:
The initial buying experience was not good -- delivery dates were very delayed, and when I called in late spring to sort out other order-related problems the customer help was useless (earlier in the year customer help was good). The plants arrived when the weather was very hot - not good for planting and much later than I was told they'd arrive. BUT - the plants were healthy and vigorous, despite being very hot from the truck, and are doing very well.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2010-09-11 00:00:00
Great
Posted By: Dan
Location: Okmulgee, ok United States
Comments:
I planted 3 triple crown and 3 black satin in the spring of 2008 and this year 2010 I picked 12 gallons of blackberries. I have a lot of jelly and some put back for cobbler and sold 3 gal. for $22.00 a gallon great plants.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2010-09-21 00:00:00
Triple Crown Blackberry
Posted By: Kathy Aldrich
Location: Moses Lake, WA United States
Comments:
I ordered a couple Triple Crown Blackberry plants and received them this spring. The starts were excellent and the plants have vined out nicely this summer. (one or two long leafy canes 4 feet or so) When I planted them into the permanent places the weather was rather warm, but they did fine and I expect that they will improve next year. They were worth the money and an excellent quality :)

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2010-10-07 00:00:00
triplecrown blackberry
Posted By: chuck,patch
Location: smock, pa United States
Comments:
these are as they say very productice,and hardy grow enormious runners ,spread really fast will take over,be prepared to cut them back every season,you are supposed to prune berries every season anyway.the taste is on the sour side for me,wish they produced a sweeter berry,they claim bushes with thorns produce sweeter fruit,i believe it,these produce a heavy crop of berries after first year,

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2010-10-09 00:00:00
Great Plants
Posted By: Craig
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah United States
Comments:
In the fall of 2009 I bought 3 black berry plants from Gurney, under a special where you bought 3 plants of their choice. 2 of the 3 plants did not survive my winter. I called and Gurney replaced the plants with 3 Triple Crown Plants. I was supprised and pleased with the up grade. The plants have grown very well and have a few large 6 foot long canes on them. I will be getting my first berries next summer. I can hardly wait. I love Gurneys.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2010-10-11 00:00:00
Can't pick them all!
Posted By: L. Siebert
Location: Lebanon, IL United States
Comments:
Bought and planted three plants. The first year I got a handful of berries. The second year we got 12 cups every other day. This year I stopped weighing them when I reached 165lbs. My neighbors took over and got another 20lbs or so. Jam, Syrup, Wine I'm running out of things to make with them. Works out well on chain link fence. Canes grow 20 and 30 feet.

 
Product Rating: Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon     Date Posted: 2014-08-06 13:34:21
Vigorous grower
Posted By: Arian Smith
Location: DENVER, CO United States
Comments:
I planted one plant last year. It grew quite large and touched down in two spots, where it rooted and created two more plants. Now I have 3 plants and they are all growing like crazy. 6-8 foot canes. Trellis this plant or it will get out of control. I think next year i will be drowning in blackberries!

Close